Music

I think I’ve mentioned before that I pretty much like most music. The guy I’m working with at work has an mp3 player so we’re always curious what each other is coming up with for new or rediscovered music. One group I had completely forgotten about that he has on his player is Blackfoot. OMG, remember them? Southern Rock, which I love for sure, and a Native American or two. I looked at the library to see if they had any albums (no) so I’ve downloaded some of their music to my iPod and I’ve been rockin’ to them all week. And I’m not sick of them yet. In fact, I may download more tonight, hmmmm.
I went to their website and they’re touring this year! How awesome! It seems like quite a few of the groups from years past are touring again.

Blackfoot_

I love album art, don’t you? I love the kitty on this next album cover:

Blackfoot_SS500_

Generally I like music that makes me happy. But there is one song that can cause me to cry on the spot. It happens every time I hear it. Because it makes me think of my Dad. In fact, I just heard it on my way home. It’s ‘Lightning Crashes’ by Live.

How about you, do you have a song that can make you bawl on the spot, or one that makes you smile wide, or one that takes you right back to a special time you associate it with?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lizalee
    Oct 12, 2007 @ 19:43:05

    I do. Willie Nelson’s Blue Skies makes me cry because it makes me think of my father. And, I also cry (or want to cry) when I hear “Don’t Bring Me Down” by ELO. A friend in high school was playing that song when he wrapped his car around a tree. They played it at the funeral. It was so hard to listen to it — and I still get teary when I hear it.

    Tons of songs make me happy — most, in fact!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Oct 12, 2007 @ 21:22:52

    Lizalee – It’s so sad to have a song that makes you cry over your Dad, isn’t it? But then I think it’s kind of good, too. It gets the pent up stuff out. OMG, I’m sorry to hear about “Don’t Bring Me Down” by ELO. That’s one of my favorites, but now I’ll think of you and your friend every time I play it.
    I love the happy songs, for sure!

    Reply

  3. Sherry
    Oct 12, 2007 @ 21:23:08

    I listen to lots of music. My husband likes all types so we have everything you can think of!
    Many songs bring tears to my eyes and many more bring smiles. We have a huge collection. We still listen to all of our old vinal! Every month my husband puts three old LP covers in Albums frames we have in the house. He changes out according to my monthly motif!
    Cover Art has always been a favorite type of art for me.
    Great post.
    Sherry

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Oct 12, 2007 @ 21:28:10

    Sherry – This is sooo cool! I still play the 33’s too, for music that I haven’t found on CD or online. In fact I still have my Dad’s 78’s, which are very fragile. I’m always playing music, except when I’m reading or sleeping.

    Reply

  5. Barbara
    Oct 12, 2007 @ 22:23:38

    What is it about that song that reminds you of your Dad?

    So many songs take me back to different experieces.

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Oct 12, 2007 @ 22:30:39

    Barbara – I know it’s a song about mothers, but when they say ‘lightning crashes, an old mother dies’ I immediately translate it to ‘lightning crashes, an old father dies’ and it takes me right back to the day my Dad lay there dying and I was saying goodbye to him even though I doubt he heard me. And I was thinking about the new babies being born in the same hospital at the same time my Dad was dying. In fact, I’m bawling right now just typing this to you.

    I also have lots of songs that bring back very good memories.

    Reply

  7. jayne
    Oct 13, 2007 @ 09:29:33

    Music always makes me think back to the time it was in my life and what was going on. The other day, I heard one particular song that always seems to make me sad… Tuesday’s Gone by Lynyrd Skynyrd. When it was popular, I was going through a breakup with my first boyfriend, and could so relate to the lyrics. Then again, there are more songs which fill me with happiness and joy. Music is such a wonderful thing.

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Oct 13, 2007 @ 10:18:32

    Jayne – I love it that a particular song can bring you right back to the place and time in a flash. Even though sometimes it is sad, but for me, like for you, most of the time it’s a happy time! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  9. mary
    Oct 13, 2007 @ 21:35:46

    Good post, Pam!

    Music always brings back a memory to me. Very vivid memories – some that make me laugh and others make me cry. Mantovani and Ray Charles reminds me of my Mother. Many others, too. Herb Albert reminds me of Dad. The list goes on and on…

    Whenever I hear “Mercy Me” by Marvin Gaye I remember my first date. When I hear George Michael’s “Father Figure”, I remember when I was 32 and loved life so much. Robert Palmer’s “Simply Irresistable” reminds me of the years I felt very sexy! LOL! These are just a few.

    “Catch a Falling Star” by Perry Como. My Dad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

