Dream Catcher

I went to pick up my dishwasher (are you sick of hearing about it yet) and the guy that was loading it into my explorer said “I like your dream catcher.” I’m thinking ‘WTF?’ And then it hits me, oh, my DREAM CATCHER! Nobody, but nobody EVER comments on my dream catcher so he totally caught me off guard.

DSC02541
Dream catcher I bought at the top of Oak Creek Canyon in Arizona about five years ago. It was made by a Navajo Native American.
I took this photo while driving home.

Then he says “I have a dream catcher tattoo on my arm” and he rolled up his shirt sleeve to show me. It was very cool, for a tat. I asked him where he got it and then I told him I got my dream catcher in Arizona. Turns out his mother is a Choctaw Native American originally from Oklahoma and she lives in Arizona. He proceeded to show me another tattoo on his other arm with the word Choctaw and I don’t remember what else. And he has one on his back which fortunately (or unfortunately) I didn’t see because I needed to move my truck to make way for other people. Hmmm, now what other appliance do I need to buy so I can go pick it up so I can go talk to him again. I’m only kidding, of course!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mon@rch
    Oct 13, 2007 @ 18:17:22

    LOL, I have always wondered what kind of tat I would end up putting on me if I had ever gotten one. Very cool for sure and congrats on the appliance!! Guess you can now wash your dishes!

    Reply

  2. Barbara
    Oct 13, 2007 @ 20:53:51

    It’s a beautiful dream catcher. can you get a picture of that guy’s tattoos? :))

    Reply

  3. mary
    Oct 13, 2007 @ 21:38:32

    I love dream catchers! Hey, when I moved to Delaware, “Tony” installed my Pella storm door. It took him all day to do it. He was a young, handsome, Italian guy who had stories of his childhood in Brooklyn NY. By the time he left, I was wondering if I could use another storm door…somewhere…. :o)

    My great-great grandmother was a Squaw. Cherokee. I regret I didn’t get more history about her from my Mom.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Oct 14, 2007 @ 09:42:40

    Mon@rch – If you were to get a tat I would think it would be a birdie, for sure!! Which one, I don’t know, what’s your favorite one? Thanks, can’t wait to get it installed!

    Barbara – LOL! I was thinking I should have taken photos of his tats! I had the camera right there in my purse, too!

    Mary – I love your story! Between the Italians and the Native Americans, I swear, they can be drop dead gorgeous sometimes! Drool. . .
    You may have told me before, I didn’t remember that you had some Native American in your background, that’s very cool!

    Reply

  5. Sandy
    Oct 14, 2007 @ 11:44:20

    Great story, Pam! Maybe a new dryer????

    Reply

  6. jason
    Oct 14, 2007 @ 13:26:45

    It’s quite beautiful, Pam, and I love the story. I’ve been thinking of adding a dream catcher tattoo to my growing collection of ink, so this seems timely.

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Oct 14, 2007 @ 20:16:42

    Sandy – Thanks! A dryer is a good idea. Oh, I just thought of it! I think I need a freezer! I don’t have one of those. But it probably wouldn’t fit in my explorer, hmmmm.

    Jason – thanks. The dream catcher tattoo was really cool. It was draped over his shoulder down his arm.

    Reply

  8. Cathy
    Oct 14, 2007 @ 22:08:08

    LOL! So you’re trying to come up with a reason to go back and check out his ‘other’ tattoos :0D

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Oct 15, 2007 @ 12:08:00

    Cathy – You betcha! He was drop dead gorgeously handsome to boot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

