Blog Action Day: The Environment

Thanks to Susan Gets Native who stated in her blog that today is Blog Action Day and the topic is The Environment.

Bloggers Unite - Blog Action Day

I think I’ve blogged about this before and the things I do to try to help our environment. These are simple things, really, but it takes time to implement them. And I am far from perfect, as it is all a learning process.

1. I try to buy only organic products. Yes, I know the term organic is overused, but if it means supporting my local farmers in their efforts to not use pesticides on their produce, I am so there for them. (Yes, I understand there are mega chemicals in our environment so nothing is truly organic).

2. Which gets at my second point. I try to buy local. I would rather support my hard-working local organic farmers and pay a little more for their produce than to support the non-organic produce being shipped across the country. Shipping produce (which is mostly water anyway) across the country may have less impact on my pocket-book, but it has a greater negative impact on the environment. And their produce tastes so much better!

3. My yard is completely natural. No chemicals, none of the bad things are used in my yard that hurt the environment. My lawn is not perfect and I don’t care. The environment, the birdies, and all living things that gather in my backyard are more important to me than the perfect lawn.

4. My gardens are completely natural. I use the leaves that fall from the trees every fall as my plant’s mulch and natural fertilizer. The worms, the snakes and the toads, oh my, they love this environment! And the plants love the leaves and the worms and snakes and toads, and everyone is happy.

5. I compost my produce kitchen scraps and also use this on my gardens.

6. I use natural house-cleaning products and paper products. Some of the companies I support are Ecover, Seventh Generation, Olde Tyme 1881 Super Pine, Earth Friendly and Natural Value. There’s probably more that I’ll think of later, but this list is a good start. You can find more ideas at your local healthy food and products store, like Wholefoods if you’re so lucky to have one in your town. Or you can find products online at such places like Frontier Natural Co-Op or at Kokopelli’s Green Market.

7. I use only natural / organic products on my skin and hair. I like Aubrey’s Organics and 17th Century Suds, a company located in Ithaca, NY (back to my buying local point).

I’m sure there’s more I do that I’ll think of later, but this list is a good start for what I try to do to help The Environment. I look forward to reading what others have to say on this topic today!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth
    Oct 15, 2007 @ 20:10:39

    You are very conscientious and while I have good intentions, I don’t always do the little things consistently, like composting. Price and convenience rule sometimes, especially when I am short of time. Very good list!

    Reply

  2. Barbara
    Oct 15, 2007 @ 22:40:35

    This is a great cause to get behind!

    Reply

  3. winterwoman
    Oct 16, 2007 @ 06:33:37

    You go girl! (Hey… my daughter is going to school north of Ithaca. I’m out there all the time… we should meet.)

    Reply

  4. Sherry
    Oct 16, 2007 @ 07:53:13

    Buying local makes such great sense to me! I also am an organic gardener and I buy as organic as possible. I would rather spend a bit more for cleaner products. Buying local also means I buy seasonal. Another way of staying connected to the earth.
    I adore the multi-culture lawn! So do the butterflies.
    I found a clothing store in my area that carries organic, free trade clothes. I buy from them. All natural clothes and linens, extra nice!
    Each year I add another area in my life to work on. This year it is over packaging!
    Nice to be connected caring for Nature.
    Sherry

    Reply

  5. Bluebeetle(one)
    Oct 16, 2007 @ 10:21:19

    Congrats!

    Here are some respectful ways to act gardening and consuming while protecting the planet.

    Bluebeetle(one).

    Reply

  6. Mary
    Oct 16, 2007 @ 12:53:32

    We do as much as we can when we have time. We have been recycling for a few decades, actually. I save water, buy local, but never got into composting since we left Maryland.

    You really have handle on the environment, Pam. I’m proud of you.

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Oct 16, 2007 @ 19:08:10

    Ruth – Thanks, I feel like I have a long way to go sometimes, but I do try to do my part in not polluting too much.

    Barbara – I agree with you!

    Winterwoman – Thanks! I’d love to meet you sometime! Either n. of Ithaca or Jamestown!

    Sherry – I like your ideas! I haven’t done the organic clothing yet, that should be next. Packaging – I’m intrigued!

    Mary – I forgot about recycling! I do that as a matter of course, but it sure was a pain when it was first required! Oh, and I save rain water, too. Thanks for the reminders on what else is important!

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Oct 16, 2007 @ 19:09:07

    Bluebeetle(one) – Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

