Beautiful Sunrise and Beautiful Trees

I went to work 45 minutes early, in complete darkness, so I could leave early to go back to the old Sears building to get my business done with the state. At work, we had an early morning meeting, and when we walked out of the meeting, I saw this:

DSC02556
Part of the sunrise I saw this morning at work. It was much more gorgeous in person!

It was raining outside, so I wasn’t able to take any more photos of the old Sears building today. But once inside I noticed the familiar bank of escalators. These escalators always intrigued me when I was a kid, I don’t know why. But I did have a nightmare story of getting lost in the store once when I was there with my Mom, and I went looking for her. I went up the escalator, and she was going down the escalator next to the one I was on. As a really young kid I didn’t get what I needed to do! She told me to stay put once I got to the top and she came and got me.

I got my business done with the state with some very nice ladies, and then ran some errands and captured some trees. Here’s the sugar maple I promised I would keep capturing for you.

DSC02563 crop
It’s getting there colorwise, but this tree takes its merry ole time every year!

Many of the trees are looking really pretty right now:

DSC02562 crop

And my neighbor’s red maple is looking really pretty.

DSC02568

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Oct 19, 2007 @ 17:27:55

    Beautiful maples Pam! The cold rain and winds are taking many of the leaves down around here. Most of the maples in my neighborhood are soft maples which turn yellow. Your sunset photo couldn’t be any prettier.

    Have a good weekend!!!

    Reply

  2. mon@rch
    Oct 19, 2007 @ 21:07:10

    The leaves are changing fast and love your sky photo! WOW!

    Reply

  3. mary
    Oct 19, 2007 @ 21:52:52

    Your neighbor’s maple is so pretty. Autumn is all about the trees – close to your heart – right, Pam?

    Reply

  4. kate
    Oct 20, 2007 @ 02:19:54

    Those leaves are so pretty … I wish that we had maples like that here. The beautiful red autumn-leaved ones don’t survive well here unfortunately. The colours are mostly yellows, rusts and browns.

    Enjoy the colourful displays … most of the trees are leafless here now. An early frost made them disappear pretty quickly.

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Oct 20, 2007 @ 09:00:46

    Lynne – Thanks, usually we don’t get this much color. It’s been a different fall, weather and leaf-wise, for sure!

    Mon@rch – yes they are! Thanks!

    Mary – I love my neighbor’s red maple. His parents obviously knew what to plant for the soil type here (acidic soil). While everyone else planted silver maples. Trees, yes, very close to my heart, any time of year.

    Kate – thank you. I’m really trying to appreciate them and capture them digitally.

    Reply

  6. jayne
    Oct 20, 2007 @ 09:59:44

    Oooooo… pretty trees! Beautiful sky! Great way to start the weekend! Hugs to you Pam!

    Reply

  7. Sandy
    Oct 20, 2007 @ 10:13:29

    Beautiful sky! Now wasn’t that worth getting up early? Our red maples are getting bare, and I notice lots more trees turning since the frost the other night.

    Reply

  8. naturegirl
    Oct 20, 2007 @ 12:29:10

    Although Autunm is in the air my garden still shows much color! My maple has NOT yet turned color nor any other ones…your sky looks like and oil painting! Wonderful photo..truly an Autumn sky! hugs NG

    Reply

  9. Linda
    Oct 20, 2007 @ 18:47:35

    That is such a pretty sunrise! I’m never up early enough to see one. So that’s what they look like. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Susan Gets Native
    Oct 21, 2007 @ 00:30:31

    A meeting before the freakin’ sun comes up?

    Pam, that’s just un-American!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

