More Details

So I’m sure I’ve kept you in suspense long enough. Obviously I have a new job, well, an additional job. I just keep collecting jobs, let’s see, I’m up to three now. My main job is now is Assistant Director at one of the best day care centers in the area. Don’t get too excited. While I’m really good at the computer / office / managerial stuff, I have a *ton* to learn. And I’ve never worked with children before. But I think I learned quite a bit this week. After all, learning the financial end of things there and the state regulations, in my opinion, are some of the most important pieces – I mean of the office stuff. The children are the most important, of course.

How and why did I get this job? I didn’t go looking for a new job. I was hoping that things would progress for my career at my now part time job. But I got a phone call one Saturday three weeks ago asking what it would take to make me say “Yes” to working at my now new job. I thought about it and gave my answers and they agreed. The owner has given me permission to do whatever I want to do, but I can’t think about making changes in processes until I *learn* the present processes.

Oh, and I’ve been asked to be the resident photographer / webmaster as part of my job. Hmmm, I wonder why? Do you think it could be because I’ve whipped out my camera all week taking photos of the dog? So whenever I feel like taking a break and being in a classroom to watch the cute little kids, when they’re being cute that is, I will be able to. Pretty cool, huh?

DSC02712 crop

 

I love it when Coraggio plays like this. He’s so cute!

And don’t worry, this isn’t turning into a work / dog blog. It’s just that work is all I’ve been doing, and will be doing until we’re able to make some personnel changes, then I’ll be back to the work hours I want (7-3:30), hopefully!

Regarding my now part-time job, when I gave my two weeks notice, they asked me to stay on as a part-time employee coming in whenever I feel like it. And this week my part-time job manager got fired. You may remember I had a feeling a while back that she was going to be let go. Okay, enough about work. Time to go enjoy the weekend!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tim Burns
    Nov 03, 2007 @ 10:43:08

    Congratulations on your new job! I love the superman puppy! Looking forward to following your blog!
    Tim

    Reply

  2. Linda
    Nov 03, 2007 @ 10:43:42

    The pooch is a mood changer. He’s just so darn cute. Your new job sure sounds terrific. Congratulations!

    Reply

  3. mon@rch
    Nov 03, 2007 @ 11:49:32

    Very cool for sure and how couldn’t you take those pictures of that puppy! Awww! I love how the photographer parts happen!

    Reply

  4. Laura
    Nov 03, 2007 @ 20:15:10

    Congrats, Pam! I hope you like it – I’m sure the children will charm you as much as that little dog.

    Reply

  5. mary
    Nov 03, 2007 @ 21:01:00

    Pam, you will love the change of scenery – little children, animals. Makes the day interesting since not one day will be the same as another. State financial work is a terror – I hate it and the jerking around. But, like you, I’m the photographer for our police cadet training and I love it. Today I photographed driver training – on Friday I photographed tear gas training. You’ll enjoy the break from the dreaded PAPERWORK!

    Happy for you,
    Mary

    Reply

  6. jayne
    Nov 04, 2007 @ 09:23:05

    What a great change of pace Pam! Sounds like a job to really love and enjoy… and to be webmaster too…oooooh! Happy, happy for you!

    Reply

  7. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Nov 04, 2007 @ 12:16:03

    Congrats on the new job Pam! It sounds like a nurturing and loving environment- perfect for YOU! They are lucky to have you.

    Reply

  8. Susan Gets Native
    Nov 05, 2007 @ 01:15:44

    Yeah, sure, Pam. It’s going to be all about the puppeh now, huh? No more birds. Just the dog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

