What Kind of Winter Will We Have?

I was walking out to my truck at lunchtime today and saw this woolly caterpillar travelling along the parking lot. I *love* woollies so much I just had to take its photo! I can imagine what my co-workers would say if they saw me taking photos of the parking lot. LOL!!

DSC02758 crop

So, looking at this woolly, what kind of winter do you think we’ll have?

P.S. Thank you all so much for your kind comments on my birthday post. It was tough, but you guys helped me through it. Thanks so much!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mary
    Nov 08, 2007 @ 21:39:03

    Pam, the way the weather has been, I can’t predict and I don’t even listen to the forecasts much anymore.

    That “wooly” is pretty but I’ve not seen one yet here.

    I understand about the taking pictures in the parking lot… just today, I was bent over photographing a very large spider when one of the officers walked by and said, “what the hell are you doing?” LOL!

    Reply

  2. Cathy
    Nov 08, 2007 @ 21:48:06

    I don’t know what that woolly bear thinks, but oh I hope it’s not too bitter this winter. I like snow, but let’s not over-do the frostiness :0) BTW. Don’t worry about your co-workers – they’ll grow to appreciate your special interests.

    Reply

  3. mon@rch
    Nov 08, 2007 @ 21:48:11

    Looks like the wooly bear is telling us that winter is coming!!

    Reply

  4. Laura
    Nov 08, 2007 @ 23:14:55

    Wooly bear is predicting whichever kind of weather you like best!

    Reply

  5. endment
    Nov 09, 2007 @ 00:15:58

    have only seen one “wooly” here and it is in the only warm spot left since the frost came.

    Reply

  6. lizalee
    Nov 09, 2007 @ 00:39:09

    Time to get your woolies on? 🙂

    -llm.

    Reply

  7. jayne
    Nov 09, 2007 @ 07:54:29

    Hmmm…. I’ve never been good at reading wooly worms. What *is* he saying exactly?

    Reply

  8. winterwoman
    Nov 09, 2007 @ 08:07:09

    OK… so I googled it… and I found two websites that both said the same thing: The wider the black bands (or the narrower the orange band, if you prefer) the more severe the winter will be. Looks to me like it will be a medium winter, based on this wooly! (Unfortunately, I found one around here that was practically ALL orange… being WinterWoman, I found this quite distressing.)

    Reply

  9. Linda
    Nov 09, 2007 @ 09:24:42

    I hope it is an ice-fishing and snowshoeing kind of winter. The woolie looks like he is prepared for a very cold winter.

    Reply

  10. Sandy
    Nov 09, 2007 @ 18:09:43

    I didn’t see one this year. Maybe that means winter will be mild.
    One day I was taking photos at the town library, and several other people whipped out their cameras when they saw me.
    You might inspire a fellow worker to be more creative.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

