Eastman Theatre – No Photos Please!

Mom and I went to the RPO again this past Sunday, and as I promised in a previous post, I started taking photos of the gorgeous interior so I could share it with you. I started snapping and over walked this woman handing out pamphlets who told me I wasn’t allowed to take photos. HUH? I asked her why. She said because it is part of the Eastman School of Music. Well, that really wasn’t a good enough answer for me, but my Mother was sitting there, and she is always telling me that I am confrontational and I didn’t want to get a lecture about it later. I did anyway. She asked me why can’t I just say okay to people when they tell me not to do something and just drop it. I said because it was illogical. I can take photos at the Eastman House, but not the Eastman Theatre? I wasn’t taking photos of the people in the RPO, just the theatre. Then I said to her, I wonder what George Eastman would think of my not being allowed to photograph the interior of his theatre. And this is a free country and nobody can tell me where I can and cannot take photos unless it is going to compromise the safety of the country.

So because I don’t get it, I’m still posting one of the three photos, even though it is yucky because I was just warming up to what I needed to do to frame a good photo. This is one of the views from the Mezzanine.

DSC02762

Even so, the RPO’s Casual Sunday Matinee 2: Honor: An American Salute in honor of Veteran’s Day was awesome. Even when they did the Armed Forces Salute and asked the veterans to stand when their song was being played. When they got to the Navy, both Mom and I lost it right on the spot.

I never did get to blog about the first matinee on October 21. They did The Birth of Jazz, and that was awesome, too.

Have you ever been told not to take photos of something you’re really enjoying?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mon@rch
    Nov 16, 2007 @ 19:33:00

    No photos? You are kidding?? I can understand that you can’t take a picture of the play but the theater? That’s crazy?

    Reply

  2. Rondi
    Nov 16, 2007 @ 20:14:32

    That happened to me at Carnegie Hall in NYC several years ago. I was told they could confuscate my whole roll of film (this was before I had a digital camera)! They didn’t, and I got a few pictures, but apparently it has something to do with copyrighted space. At least at Carnegie, they make money off the professional pictures they take of the hall for postcards and books and they don’t want others taking away from that. Annoying, though, isn’t it?!

    I wanted to comment on Susan’s post, too. What a treat for you to have her visit your blog! I’ve read every single book of her three series and love them all. I enjoyed the blog tour and thought it was cool that you were part of it.

    Reply

  3. Ruth
    Nov 16, 2007 @ 21:39:50

    I have had the same experience in at least 3 theatres in Ontario. You are not allowed to take pictures even before the show. I did try last year in London Ontario, but my sneaky technique and lack of flash left me with very blurry pictures.

    Reply

  4. Jennifer
    Nov 16, 2007 @ 22:09:24

    Oh life is weird. I can’t sell this image because the Bell Tower (and apparently any image made from it) is copyrighted by Chautauqua Institution.

    Bell Tower

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Nov 17, 2007 @ 09:18:20

    Mon@rch – I thought so, too!

    Rondi – OMG – copyrighted *space*! That’s a new one to me. Wow! That must be why they didn’t want me taking photos, too. I love SWA’s writing, too!

    Ruth – I was thinking of the no flash technique but figured it wouldn’t work at all for me either.

    Jennifer – another example of a copyrighted building. This is all new to me! Interesting. . . I think this copyright thing is way out of control.

    Reply

  6. Penny
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 22:41:36

    I would like permission to use your photo of the Eastman Theater interior in my graduate course project. My tentative title is The Eastman Kodak Story…a Vision Changed. May I?

    I would need your full name to give credit to the photo. Please mail your response via my email address.

    Thank you.

    Penny

    Reply

  7. Lloyd
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 23:52:16

    Thank you for this photo; it brings back memories for me(going to concerts as a child, playing in the RPYO there, etc.). Here’s a topper: My son’s graduation was at the same theater, and he also played in a quartet for the ceremony. I excitedly sat down and prepared my video camera, when an usher tapped me and wagged her finger at me. At that moment I had to decide to put it away and fume, or risk being kicked out, which was not an option for me. I must have looked so upset, another parent next to me patted me to console me! Anyway, there was a professional film done, but then I had to tape it off TV. Some rules are dumb, like the Edison quotation about his lab:
    “There ain’t no rules around here. We’re trying to accomplish something!”
    Thanks again for the photo.
    -Lloyd

    Reply

Leave a Reply

