Thanksgiving 2007 & Snow!

Yesterday morning and the entire night before it had been raining hard. During mid-morning the temperature dropped 10 degrees F, and we had snow on Thanksgiving!

DSC02772

Whenever there is snow on Thanksgiving, it makes me break into the song

‘Over the river and through the woods to Mummy’s house we go. . .’ (substituting Mummy in for Grandmother).

DSC02793

These snow photos are for you, Mary, and anyone else who wants to see a bit of snow.

I only had a couple of panicky moments of missing my Dad. One was when I was setting the table by myself and as I was setting the place where he usually sat for my Mom I started freaking out inside. I almost called out to my Mom, but at that moment my Aunt walked in and started talking, which irritated me at first, but then she did take my mind off of my Dad. The whole process of getting ready for the day was really tough on my Mom, but she is really one smart cookie in that she invited the relatives and had the whole day planned to keep our minds off of things, even though we did bring up my Dad every now and then.

After a delicious meal, we had a musical concert because everyone plays the piano plus other instruments and sings, too. I was the only one not to play and I got in trouble for not playing. Well, I don’t have a piano at home, but they didn’t accept that as an excuse, so next year I have to perform, somehow. I better get boned up on my ragtime again!

The day was perfect, and even Mom’s Thanksgiving cactus was blossoming right on time:

DSC02778

And a wonderful end to a great day:

DSC02797

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Nov 23, 2007 @ 13:20:17

    I’m glad you had a nice day Pam. I sure do understand. My Mom is so constantly in my thoughts, I’m starting to wonder if it’s unhealthy. I don’t want to forget but sometimes I’d like to turn it off for a bit.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Nov 23, 2007 @ 15:40:11

    Lynne – I hope you had a nice day, too. I don’t think it is unhealthy to think about your Mom all of the time. I think it’s part of the grieving process. I understand about wanting to turn it off. About a month after I lost my Dad I went to meet Mon@rch for the first time, and that was a big escape for me (as in, meeting somebody who didn’t know my Dad, etc. Even though it turned out he reminds me of my Dad in a certain respect, which was really nice).
    I also wanted to just escape for Thanksgiving, but my Mom’s way of facing it head on seemed to work best. And I thanked her for that.

    Reply

  3. Linda
    Nov 23, 2007 @ 18:56:27

    Your picture of the slice of pumpkin pie is making me soooo hungry! Luckily, my mother-in-law dropped off some leftovers from our feast yesterday.

    The snow really let us know winter was coming. It was just beautiful here yesterday with all the trees covered.

    I can’t wait until I meet Mon@rch, too, sometime. I sure hope I can attend those nature outings in the spring and summer that he participates in.

    Reply

  4. mary
    Nov 23, 2007 @ 21:49:19

    Pam, thanks, sweetie, for the snow. Delia had snow last week and others. People from the south don’t understand what it means to miss snow. For my entire life, the first snow flurry of the season was worth a hoot and a hollar. Great memories, sometimes clouded with all of the SHOVELING.

    Your Mom is a strong lady and smart, too, by planning a day full of action. I do understand your grief, too. When I was in Maryland a month ago, my sister-in-law asked me if I wanted to see my Mom and Dad’s in-law apartment that’s attached to her house. There was an older man moving in that day and his daughters were helping him. Before I walked across the porch, I almost lost it. When inside, I looked at the place where my Mom’s chair sat, her bed, my Dad’s bed, and I saw their refrigerator (minus photos of the family) and kitchen table, and my Mom’s curtains… I didn’t think I’d cry like a baby, but I did after I left. It was a short visit – on the way out I noticed the supply of her oxygen tanks were gone from the little foyer -and that was probably the last time I’ll see their last “home” again.

    Get those fingers nimble again and tickle those ivories!

    Reply

  5. Mary Carlson
    Nov 23, 2007 @ 22:29:26

    Hi Pam – I’m glad you had such a nice, busy time with relatives. I really liked your photo of your “Thanksgiving” cactus. I’ve always called it a Christmas cactus, but maybe I should rename it, since my pots have been in bloom for over a week – mine are white flowers, but I used to have a red bloomer years ago. I’ll have to post a photo of them one of these days.

    Reply

  6. mon@rch
    Nov 23, 2007 @ 22:46:29

    So glad you had a great Thanksgiving and love your thanksgiving cactus photo!

    Reply

  7. jayne
    Nov 24, 2007 @ 09:22:18

    Snow on Thanksgiving! Beautiful photos Pam. I am sure it was hard not to think about your dad. Hugs to you, and um, can you pass the fork for the pie? :c)

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Nov 24, 2007 @ 09:53:13

    Linda – Glad you have leftovers to eat! The snow is so pretty now. You’ll enjoy meeting Mon@rch!

    Mary – you’re so welcome. You know I was thinking of you when taking the photos. Oh Mary, I didn’t know you went to see where your Mom lived. That must have been so tough for you. My Mom has totally changed my Dad’s normal hang out spots in her home so much that they don’t remind me of him anymore. Somehow she knows how to save her own sanity by doing this, along with mine.

    Mary C – that’s cool you have a ‘Thanksgiving’ Christmas Cactus, too!

    Mon@rch – thanks Tom! I figured you would like that photo!

    Jayne – Here’s the fork for you!! Too bad I couldn’t send you a piece, but it went fast!

    Reply

  9. Cathy
    Nov 25, 2007 @ 19:13:49

    Pam,

    Oh honey. How I understand that pain that comes over you and you just have to talk to someone. I had an experience like that last week. It’s been three years ago this month that we lost both our dogs. Well. I thought I heard my dog whimper and I couldn’t stand it. I ran downstairs and outside into the front yard. It’s probably a good thing that no one was walking by – I’d have made a blubbering fool out of myself.

    You survived a difficult holiday without your dad and found beauty and companionship despite the pain that lingers. Good job. Your Dad would be pleased and proud. (Now start brushing up on your Ragtime – your audience awaits ;0)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

