‘Pillars of the Earth’ and ‘World Without End’ by Ken Follett

I could not believe it when I saw ‘Pillars of the Earth’ by one of my favorite intrigue authors Ken Follett is now part of Oprah’s Book Club. I read this book years ago and was recommending it to everyone at that time. In fact, here’s a photo of the cover of my copy, copyright 1989.

DSC02839

I picked this up on a bargain table at a bookstore in the mall in anticipation of a long road trip to Manistee, Michigan and back. Here’s the cover the way it looks now:

POTE_

So why am I bringing this up besides the fact that I’m still recommending this book? Because Ken Follett has written another book ‘World Without End‘ as a follow-up to ‘Pillars of the Earth.’ Even though it is the second book, it can stand by itself. I’m about 3/4 of the way through and I am once again recommending this latest book to anyone who likes to read historical fiction.  I won’t take the time to give any book details here, as you can read them on Oprah’s website and Amazon.com.

WWE_

Hopefully it won’t take this one as long to make it on Oprah’s Book Club list as ‘Pillars of the Earth’ did.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mary
    Nov 25, 2007 @ 00:25:25

    It made Oprah’s book club? Must be good! Enjoy your reading, Pam!

    Reply

  2. Susan Gets Native
    Nov 25, 2007 @ 00:58:53

    I loved Pillars of the Earth! I never really thought about how much work went into cathedrals. And a new book? WHOOT! On my Christmas list for sure!

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Nov 25, 2007 @ 09:30:10

    Mary – Yes, it finally did! I love Ken Follett’s intrigue books, and he does good with the historical fiction, too.

    Susan – Oh yeah, I couldn’t believe how *long* they took to build, too! Yup, a new book!! I just happened to see it in BJ’s and had to have it! Makes me want to read ‘Pillars. . .’ again!

    Reply

  4. lizalee
    Nov 26, 2007 @ 01:30:07

    Cool. My husband and I loved Pillars of the Earth. He’s an architect which certainly helped. I will have to re-read PotE and the new one too. Hurrah!

    Reply

  5. pauline
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 02:53:57

    Is there a 3rd book?

    Reply

  6. Karen
    May 05, 2011 @ 14:47:46

    What a marvelous book – I hated to finish the last page. The sequel was equally as engrossing. Just finished watching the movie and loved every minute of it as well.

    Reply

  7. Tracy
    Aug 06, 2011 @ 22:45:36

    Great book. Wished it never ended. Probably have to wait another couple of hundred years to read the next one. Hopefully Philemon gets ‘his’ soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

