Memorial Art Gallery

Today we went to the Memorial Art Gallery. There isn’t a special exhibition we wanted to see, but instead we wanted to view the variety of items in their permanent displays. My Mother made a point of making sure I knew I wasn’t allowed to take photos inside of the galleries. Rats!

One of my favorite paintings is Asher Brown Durand’s Genesee Oaks which is back in the collection (click the link to see the painting and to read about it). Last time I saw this it was at the Genesee Village Country Museum.

Another favorite of mine is John Frederick Kensett’s A Showery Day, Lake George. Once again you can click the link to see the painting and read about it. Last time I stayed at Lake George was during a hurricane and the electricity was out all night. Talk about a dark and scary night!

We saw one of my favorite artists Thomas Cole’s small painting Genesee Scenery. I was hoping to see a larger version! It was all of 6 1/4″ x 4 1/8″ and can be seen on the second page if you click above.

Genesee Scenery
Genesee Scenery

We saw Partial Armor Made for the Dukes of Brunswick-Wolfenbuttel, 1560’s which was etched steel and leather. The etching detail is amazing! Click on the link for a pdf of a partial view of the armor.

One of my newest favorite paintings is by Walter Goodman and it is called The Printseller’s Window. Clicky on the link to see the painting. I need to find out more about this painting, because the portraits in this painting are of famous painters of the time.

the printseller's window
The Printseller’s Window

At 3PM a man from the Eastman School of Music started playing the Italian Baroque Organ. It was truly amazing, but a little goes a long way! Click on the link to see the organ. It is powered by another guy pumping two bellows.

We saw many other items, but these are some of my favorites from today. The sun was beautiful on the old Cutler Union building when we went outside, and I did snap some photos.

DSC02850

This is the entrance to the old Cutler Union building, which is part of the Memorial Art Gallery.

DSC02852

It was a nice afternoon, even though I couldn’t take photos inside!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mary
    Nov 25, 2007 @ 21:06:23

    Pam, now we’re in business!

    I think it’s a terrific gift to have your Mom visit places and sightsee with you so often.

    You are not only a good nature and tree photographer – you do a great job with buildings, too!

    Those blue skies remind me of NC.

    Reply

  2. mon@rch
    Nov 25, 2007 @ 22:59:04

    That sounds like a great place and bet you guys spent a great deal of time their! BRAVO

    Reply

  3. Linda
    Nov 26, 2007 @ 11:48:39

    I love going to art museums. It sounds like you had a great time. The buildings sometimes are as great at the paintings.

    Reply

  4. Tim Burns
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 22:36:19

    Neat pictures. The armor looks amazing. If I’m up in NY I will definately have to stop by and check it out! I also learned a great new word: Tasset or thigh protector.

    Reply

  5. Marjorie Searl
    Nov 28, 2007 @ 10:01:13

    Pam,

    I was delighted to read your blog about the Memorial Art Gallery. Your pictures are terrific, and I was pleased to see that you were able to see the bigger version of the Thomas Cole painting by accessing the essay by Marlene Hamann Whitmore online.

    Please return soon. Also, next time you come, be sure to stop at the Admission Desk to ask about our photography policy. I feel sure that you would be able to take pictures (no flash) of our permanent collection.

    Your photography is excellent. I will be sure to visit your blog again.

    Thank you for helping us spread the word about MAG in such a positive and meaningful way.

    Marjorie Searl
    Chief Curator

    Reply

  6. Steve Merry
    Jun 27, 2008 @ 07:56:49

    Pam
    For some more information about Walter Goodman (The Printseller), take a look at:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walter_Goodman

    I agree with your comments about the MAG – a wonderful experience. I was there a couple of years ago and will be back in 2009.

    Steve Merry
    Stockholm, Sweden

    Reply

Leave a Reply

