Christmas Flowers!

I surprised my Mom with this huge poinsettia plant last Friday. I bought it and left it inside her home for her to find when she got home from work. It made her very happy!

DSC03049

So yesterday I was taking photos of it, and got close to the center. There’s a lot going on there!

DSC03050 crop

She is growing her amaryllis again this year, and this is the first one to blossom:

DSC03056

And again I got close to the center, and was happy to see how intricate this is, too!

DSC03055

I love how the petals sparkle!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mary
    Dec 26, 2007 @ 23:23:50

    Pam, I wonder how you have the snowflakes falling…so pretty!

    Your macro shot are incredible. Beautiful!!!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Dec 26, 2007 @ 23:42:42

    Mary – I thought it was cool, too! And thought of you when I turned it on! It will stop snowing on January 2nd here on my blog, but not here where I live!
    Thank you!

    Reply

  3. lizalee
    Dec 27, 2007 @ 01:52:13

    Gorgeous! And, thanks for the reminder that I need to change my layout for my blog too! Hope you had an amazing Christmas and have an even happier New Year.

    Reply

  4. jayne
    Dec 27, 2007 @ 07:35:45

    Ahhhh… breathtaking macro shots Pam! :c) Hope your Christmas was a merry one.

    Reply

  5. Rondi
    Dec 27, 2007 @ 16:30:02

    Beautiful pictures! And how intricate and delicate those centers are! Happy Holidays!

    Reply

  6. Curtis
    Dec 27, 2007 @ 21:45:05

    amaryllis is one of the first flowers I grew as a child. Very pretty photos.

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Dec 27, 2007 @ 21:50:55

    Liza – Thank you! I was getting sick of the X-Mas theme, if you can believe it! Thanks, Christmas was nice, and I hope my new year is much better than this past one!

    Jayne – Thank you! I hope yours was, too!

    Rondi – Thank you! Happy Holidays to you, too!

    Curtis – What a wonderful flower to grow as a child!! Thank you!

    Reply

  8. mon@rch
    Dec 28, 2007 @ 17:12:56

    Watch those kitties! Wonderful flowers and I love those white ones!

    Reply

  9. Linda
    Dec 29, 2007 @ 16:57:44

    The true beauty of the flowers are in the closeups. How amazing they are gorgeous even down to the most minute details.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

