“Lightning Crashes, An Old Mother Dies. . .”

Is this freakin’ year ever going to come to an end? It’s bad enough my Dad passed, now my Aunt, who we found out had cancer last year, has passed as of 8:30 last night. I am so, so very sorry for my Uncle and my cousins and all of her grandchildren / great grandchildren, my Mom, my Aunts and Uncles, and everyone who is affected by this.

Perry Family Reunion
Aunt Jeanette is standing in the middle, her husband (Mom’s brother) is to her left.
By the way, my Dad is holding my Mom on his lap on the ground to Aunt J’s right.
And all of the children except my older brother and other cousin
are Aunt Jeanette’s, so she has a lot of grieving children (5, one wasn’t born yet) today.
And I was just a twinkling in my Dad’s eye.
I just realized, only four of the adults in this photo are alive today.

After my Mom told me the first thing that came to my head was “Lightning Crashes, An Old Mother Dies. . .” “I can feel it. . .” and I’m playing it right now real loud because I. Just. Need. To.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lizalee
    Dec 29, 2007 @ 11:52:02

    I’m so sorry.

    Reply

  2. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Dec 29, 2007 @ 12:34:52

    I’m sorry too Pam. It re-opens the grief doesn’t it? I really hope 2008 is peace-filled and happy for you.

    Reply

  3. mon@rch
    Dec 29, 2007 @ 12:43:53

    this has been a tough year for you! I am sorry to hear about your loss of your aunt so close to the holidays!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Dec 29, 2007 @ 13:05:02

    Thanks Liza.

    Thanks Lynne. It sure does reopen the grief, just like ripping the scab off a large wound (gross, sorry). I’m looking forward to being done with this year!

    Mon@rch – Thanks, it sure has. But it also has been a good year, too – cuz I got to meet you and other wonderful people, especially some wonderful tiny people!

    Reply

  5. Linda
    Dec 29, 2007 @ 16:54:59

    I’m so sorry for your losses this year. It’s very hard to lose people you love. The pictures are great to have. I’m in the process of converting all my old 8mm movies and slides to DVD and they bring back so many happy memories as I view them now where they used to bring tears shortly after the loss of my mother. Hopefully, with time, you’ll be able to look at your pictures without so much pain and just remember all the happy times. I hope 2008 is a peaceful year for you.

    Reply

  6. mary
    Dec 30, 2007 @ 00:30:06

    Pam, I’m so sorry. The grief never ends when we become at the age of losing loved ones and family… I’ve heard of many deaths lately that broke my heart. I guess it’s part of life –

    Reply

  7. jayne
    Dec 30, 2007 @ 08:52:38

    (((((Pam))))) You’ve certainly had your share of loss this year. Sending up prayers for your Aunt J and all her family. Love and hugs to you as well dear friend.

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Dec 30, 2007 @ 10:54:03

    Thank you so much Linda. I need to get my 8mm films converted soon!

    Thank you Mary. It stinks to get older, doesn’t it?

    Thank you Jayne. I’m looking forward to 2008 already!

    Reply

  9. Susan Gets Native
    Dec 31, 2007 @ 01:24:39

    Damn. I’m sorry, Pam.

    I love that song, by the way. I think of it when I am sad.

    Big hug to you…….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

