2008 — Yay! Resolutions — Ha!

We finally made it to 2008, yay! Now, I’ve told everyone and now I’m telling you, nobody is allowed to die this year. Why? Because I said so!

I’ll do some resolutions, but I’m blowing them already!

  • Watch less TV. Okay, with the Twilight Zone marathon on Sci-Fi today, that’s blown.

TheTwilightZoneLogo
  • Take nature photos every day. This I *will* try to do, even if it is of a freakin’ branch on a tree in my backyard or at work.

DSC03117
Norway Spruce in my backyard.

DSC03115_crop
Water droplets hanging onto dead grass in my backyard.

DSC03124
Sun peaking through the clouds and trees in my backyard.

  • Exercise at the gym every day. Blown already because I’m not in the mood to drive to the gym today. But I will try to from now on.
  • Eat better. Well, okay, I ate another jar of salsa last night, but it is only 10 calories per serving. It’s just what I put it on. . .
  • Snow shoe as often as I can. Well, I need some snow first!
  • Read more. With Twilight Zone marathons on TV, that’s tough.
  • Make more photos on Flickr public. Given for every 1,000 photos I have on Flickr, only 1 is public, I think I can do better.
  • Continue with an attitude of gratitude. Even if people put conditions on doing things for me, I still will be grateful.
  • Love more.
  • Continue to meet more tiny people that I will fall in love with.

DSC02940
How can I refuse this cute little face?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lizalee
    Jan 01, 2008 @ 14:31:51

    There was a time in my life when I had trouble being grateful for the good things in my life and focused on the truly negative. I started keeping a Gratitude Journal (I think I heard about it from Oprah! 🙂 ) It really helped. Every night before I went to sleep, I just wrote down a few things I was grateful for. Sometimes it was only that the day was over. But, usually, I found there were many things in that day that I was grateful for. Eventually, I didn’t need it anymore but it’s not a half bad way to keep yourself focused on the good in your life. Just a suggestion if you are having a hard time with that grateful thing! 🙂

    Oh, and on the exercise, go take a walk down the street . . . exercise done. That’s what I need to do today. Next question . . . does walking around the grocery store pushing a basket of groceries count as exercise? 🙂

    Happy New Year!

    Reply

  2. mon@rch
    Jan 01, 2008 @ 16:33:51

    is 1000-1 a true number?? LOL! Sounds like a wonderful wish list and I need to spend less time blogging and more time taking pictures! Good luck and can’t wait to see what 2008 brings you!

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Jan 01, 2008 @ 17:38:20

    Lizalee – I couldn’t remember who coined the term “attitude of gratitude” but I’ve been trying to do it every day, even if I’m just thankful for every day things we take for granted like food, clothing, shelter, etc. It’s a great idea to write it down!
    Yup, I walked, so that’s done! Groceries I say counts! Also cleaning anything in the home, that has to count, too, right?
    Happy New Year to you, too!
    Mon@rch – uh huh. I remember you’re the one that told *me* how many photos I have public! Ohhh, more photos from you, now that’s a great resolution, well, as long as we get to see them! LOL! Thanks, and I can’t wait to see what 2008 brings you, too! 😉

    Reply

  4. mary
    Jan 01, 2008 @ 21:33:33

    Resolutions are so funny…I have made them with an evil smile on my face. I don’t think I’ve ever made one and lived up to the promise.

    I do want to lose 15 pounds. But I can’t start to lose until I finish that can of cashews sitting on the kitchen counter :o)

    Happy New Year! Yes, let’s be grateful. That’s a resolution we all can keep.

    Hugs,
    Mary

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Jan 01, 2008 @ 22:52:28

    Mary – I agree, and I usually do not even bother making them at all! Happy New Year to you, too! My attitude of gratitude was tested today! Hugs to you, too!

    Reply

  6. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 02, 2008 @ 00:20:39

    I can never get anything done when Sci-Fi does the Twilight Zone marathons.
    And you can’t resist the cute-face-kiddies. They are willpower-Kryptonite.

    Reply

  7. Sandy
    Jan 02, 2008 @ 01:33:06

    I love the water droplet shot, Pam. Good luck with the resolutions. You can have some of our snow. The power has gone off twice this evening, and if it lasts through the night, it will be a miracle. By the way, you do have snow, it is building down at the bottom of the page right now.

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Jan 02, 2008 @ 08:48:23

    Susan – Glad it’s not just me. I did manage to shut the TV off a few times, but it came back on soon thereafter! Oh sweet kiddie faces, as long as they have the great personality to go with them, are wonderful!

    Sandy – Thank you! It was supposed to snow 12″ by tonight, but so far we have about 1 inch. Oh well! I’ll take the snow at the bottom of the screen.

    Reply

  9. jayne
    Jan 02, 2008 @ 17:18:31

    I like your resolutions… gratitude being the best one really. I’d rather be a bit plump and grateful, no? LOL… love to you Pam!

    Reply

  10. Flower, field N forest
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 15:51:08

    I’m a twilight zone fan too. I watched a lot of the Marathon while my stepson shook his head and just couldn’t understand how i could be interested in a black and white Tv program.

    Reply

  11. Pam
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 20:36:23

    Jayne – Me too!

    Flower – Oh, I love b&w TV, since that’s all we had at home for quite a while, even when color was out. My Mom didn’t like us watching TV.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

