The Birds

Two days ago I was able to escape for a few minutes to get some fresh air and when I got into my truck all of a sudden starlings started circling around my truck, a few at a time landing on this tree, and it continued for a few minutes. I had purple bird peep on my windshield. I wanted to open the window to get a better photo (sorry for the dirty spots), but I didn’t want the flock to all fly away. I felt like I was in Alfred Hitchcock’s ‘The Birds.’ Except I wasn’t afraid.

DSC03140

What about you, do you see a lot of starlings in your area?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mon@rch
    Jan 05, 2008 @ 21:06:45

    They are called a Murmeration of Starlings when you have a big group of them together! Love all the other colors you were able to capture in this picture!

    Reply

  2. Born Again Bird Watcher
    Jan 06, 2008 @ 01:14:53

    As the weather turned cold in the past few weeks out here in northwest Oregon, we have had a significant increase in starlings visiting the feeders.

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 06, 2008 @ 01:34:27

    A murmeration. I wish the buggers would murmerate the Hell out of my yard!

    Reply

  4. jayne
    Jan 06, 2008 @ 09:21:37

    I am probably going to regret even typing this to be seen, but I’ve yet to see one starling on Chickadee….. ack… now they’ll be coming my way. I’ve done it now. (Ducking from the purple poop.) ;c)

    Reply

  5. jason
    Jan 06, 2008 @ 09:43:02

    There’s a respectable community of starlings in this area, but their numbers don’t come close to several other kinds of birds here–especially our winter community of great-tailed grackles. They live here all year, sure, yet in winter they mass in such numbers that even Hitchcock would have been frightened!

    Reply

  6. Rhea
    Jan 06, 2008 @ 10:38:03

    Starlings and the noise they make is so other-worldly.

    Reply

  7. Linda
    Jan 06, 2008 @ 13:22:00

    Normally they wipe out my feeders of feed along with the chipmunks and red squirrels. But I haven’t seen one for a long, long time so I figured they moved on (perhaps to you, ha) But I do get a kick out of watching them feeding their young on the feeders in the spring even if it is at the expense of the other birds that don’t want to be anywhere near the “murmeration” (thanks Monarch for the term!)

    Reply

  8. winterwoman
    Jan 06, 2008 @ 19:33:12

    I love that word… murmeration… There’s a blog:
    http://murmurationofstarlings.wordpress.com/
    not about starlings, though…

    We have loads of starlings around here!

    Reply

  9. Sandy
    Jan 07, 2008 @ 19:31:51

    Not so many as we used to have. Not as many grackles, either. I wonder why?
    I like you new look, Pam!

    My grandfather used to take us swimming in the Atlantic in the small town where The Birds was filmed. It is a pretty place on the California coast called Bodega Bay.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

