Winter Structures

I love plants that give the garden interesting structure even in the winter time. Like ornamental grasses:

DSC03150

And sedum:

DSC03154

And echinacea seed heads (which I will get screamed at by the birds for cutting down well after the green leaves are up).

DSC03131

Obviously these were taken before our unusually warm, record breaking weather here, it was supposed to get to 67 degrees F today. Strange.

Anyway, back to the plant structures. How about you? Do you leave dead plants standing in your yard for winter interest, and of course, for the birdies?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mon@rch
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 21:34:57

    I always leave my dead plants there but only because I am lazy from removing them! Hasn’t this weather been crazy?

    Reply

  2. Ruth
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 22:57:26

    My excuse for not cleaning my fall garden is the birds. However, the snow came this year before I had a chance to cut down everything. I do like sedum in the snow.

    Reply

  3. winterwoman
    Jan 09, 2008 @ 07:33:46

    I almost stopped to photograph the dead stuff in the garden at Audubon yesterday… but the wind was just strong enough to make it too challenging. Besides… I had already been out for an hour or more! But I agree with you! Love the dead stuff! And so do the birds.

    Reply

  4. jayne
    Jan 09, 2008 @ 07:48:56

    I did leave my Sedum up, and just yesterday saw green coming up from the base. Nooooooooooooo! I do tend to cut back the dead Hosta as it looks all slimy and such. I wish it would just be cold and then wait until March or April to really warm up. I want all my things to bud, bloom, and be pretty this year…. (sigh).

    Reply

  5. Linda
    Jan 09, 2008 @ 14:57:15

    I leave my ornamental grasses alone as they look pretty in the winter with snow on them and when the snow melts they look pretty swaying in the breeze. I especially love the first picture.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

