What a Waste of Time

So I’ve spent the last hour searching and racking my brain as to the whereabouts of my birth certificate. I have a place for such important papers and it wasn’t there. Which made me mean. As I’m flinging things in my office looking for it for an hour, it hit me that I needed it to get a new SS card before I started working at Kirtas. Which was right before my Dad passed. And I had put all of my papers into a book bag to take to the SS office, and given the events since said papers never got removed from said book bag, and there it was! Yay! So now I can go waste more time at a local PO next week and pay through the nose to get a passport so I can flit about England & Scotland and also Canada in the future. Woo Hoo!

Us-passport

I sure hope I’m not the only one who does stuff like this which drives me crazy.

I also spent four hours at my local service station yesterday to get a NYS inspection wherein they told me I needed new front brakes and what was supposed to be all of a half hour app’t turned into an extremely boring four hour wait. I read three magazines and by that time the waiting room cleared and I switched the TV to PBS and watched ‘This Old House,’ Norm’s show (can’t think of the name of it) and ‘Ciao Italia.’

And then today I spent an hour today at the Verizon Wireless booth at BJ’s because my cell phone contract finally expired – yay! – and was figuring out the whole ‘prepaid, pay as you go’ phone thing because I am sick of the high cell phone bills when I barely use the thing.

So my weekend felt like a complete waste of time doing stupid, boring things. Can we start it over, please?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lana
    Jan 14, 2008 @ 02:34:06

    I can sympathize with the birth certificate. My last trip to Canada I realized the day before I left that I couldn’t find mine (it appears to have vanished on my last trip to Canada, for mom’s funeral–I think my bro inadvertantly snatched it up w/a bunch of mom’s papers.) Fortunately they didn’t give me a hard time coming back into the US. I realized soon after that, however, that I needed a copy of my BC to get married…When it rains it pours! Got it all straightened out, in the end.

    Reply

  2. mon@rch
    Jan 14, 2008 @ 20:41:30

    O my goodness, craziness for sure! Off to other countries? Very cool for sure!

    Reply

  3. mary
    Jan 14, 2008 @ 22:13:37

    Don’t you just fry when tedious details hold you up????!!!

    Let’s be patient, Pam. Count to ten. With me.

    Reply

  4. mary
    Jan 14, 2008 @ 22:14:10

    And, you are traveling? LUCKY GIRL! Let’s hear more about it, K?

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 15, 2008 @ 00:32:10

    I do that all the time. But I can blame the girls for a lot of it.
    “Now, where is my so-and-so? I KNOW I left it right HERE!”
    *giggles*
    I do the pay as you go thing, too. I got sick of the bills.

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Jan 15, 2008 @ 21:42:46

    Lana – OMG that is quite a story – glad it worked out good for you!
    Mon@rch – Some time soon instead of Arizona (reminds my Mom of my Dad), yup!
    Mary – 1, 2, 3. . . yup I do fry when I have to do stupid things. I’ll let you know more about my travel plans soon!
    Susan – I need someone to blame it on, too! My phone has been off since I got it. I’m on a cell-phone hiatus!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

