HoJo’s

I read an article in the Dec 2007 issue of Adirondack Life entitled HoJo’s Hangs On. Oh my. The memories came flooding back to me. Remember that bright orange roof? My parents used to take us to HoJo’s once in a great while for dinner, which included their infamous *huge* sundae for dessert. Mmmmm. Not only did they have yummy food, but it was fun waiting for my Dad to pay the bill because we would peruse the little store inside the restaurant which, if I remember correctly, had all kinds of cool candy and trinkets for kids and adults.

511 - Howard Johnson's - Dewitt - 1963 - 300dpi
Howard Johnson’s in DeWitt, 1963
From the Collections of Onondaga Historical Association
This photo can be purchased from OHA at their online Photo Store!

And then when I was first on my own my friends and I used to meet at HoJo’s on Sat. night for dinner and some kind of ice-cream goodies. Or skip the dinner and go for dessert! Mom wasn’t there to tell me to eat dinner first!  I know, what a rockin’ thing to do!

How about you, do you remember going to HoJo’s, and if so, what are your fond memories?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mary
    Jan 15, 2008 @ 21:27:54

    There was a HoJo’s in Jessup, MD that had a two for one drink night every other Friday night and live music. All of the NSA employees nearby and friends from my office would stop by on the way home from work. You could get a full four ounces of Vodka for 2 bucks. I never finished my drink…had to drive myself home. I was in my early twenties and had a blast. I went there to dance!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Jan 15, 2008 @ 21:38:22

    OMG Mary, I had forgotten about the live music & dancing when I went there with my friends! I was totally focused on the food!

    Reply

  3. mon@rch
    Jan 15, 2008 @ 22:56:37

    Never head of them called as HoJo’s! LOL! Guess it might be a little before my time!

    Reply

  4. jayne
    Jan 17, 2008 @ 07:45:44

    I remember them well, though I don’t think we ever ate at one! You could see those orange roofs from miles away!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

