A Brand New Little Love

I am so sorry I am behind on my blog reading given my lovely work schedule. I’m hoping to fix it up a bit in a couple of weeks. But anyway, even though I need to get to bed I just have to tell you about the sweetest little baby girl that I’ve had the pleasure of helping to provide care to in the last two days. She is all of seven weeks old, that’s it. She has the brightest eyes and beautiful little dimples when she holds her cheeks a certain way. She is totally a very happy baby – the only baby in the room of babies that doesn’t cry except that she is breastfed. And her Mom puts her breast milk in bottles for her. And little cutie doesn’t want the bottle nipple, she wants Mommy and Mommy alone. So you can imagine me trying to give little cutie the bottle while I held her in my arms. She zooms in on *my* chest. Sorry honey, it doesn’t work that way! I eventually put her in a little rocker and after much crying with the foreign bottle nipple in her mouth and much trying and talking to her on my part she took the bottle. I paved the way for the day because the other girls had no problem giving her the bottle after that. Yay! Eventually I may be able to get a photo of her for you to see how beautiful she is. And all I can think of while I’m taking care of her and smelling her new baby scent? Is a job so freakin’ important as to leave such a beautiful baby girl with strangers to take care of her all day long?

And so I don’t leave you photoless (because you know I don’t like to make photoless blog entries) I give you a photo of the little waddler that I’ve blogged about before. I was taking photos of the waddlers marching around the room, and he became so intrigued with my camera he sat down right in front of it and was intensely investigating it (he’s one very smart little boy):

DSC03223

Couldn’t you just plant kisses on both of those fat cheeks? I don’t do that, but when I rub his back or ears it makes him laugh. And I love to hear kids this young laugh!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liza Lee Miller
    Jan 18, 2008 @ 02:09:27

    What a beautiful story! Those babies are soooo cute. And, as a mom who had to leave her kids at 8 weeks. The job isn’t important enough to leave them for but usually the bills, food on the table, and the mortgage payment are. It just plain sucks to do it though. And, wow is it a relief knowing you are leaving them with people who care so much. People like you make a brutal necessity possible. Although the first few weeks, I cried all the way to work.

    Reply

  2. winterwoman
    Jan 18, 2008 @ 07:33:26

    I was so lucky when I had to go back to work, the baby room was a half flight of stairs from my office. I could nurse and go back to work… and visit her during my breaks… which I probably took way too many of… but nobody fired me…

    Reply

  3. jayne
    Jan 18, 2008 @ 07:48:18

    Pure sweetness it is. Love the “new baby” smell and the chubby cheeks on toddlers. But, boy am I glad we’re past that part…lol.

    Reply

  4. mary
    Jan 18, 2008 @ 11:54:11

    What a set of cheeks! What a cutie!

    Poor little girl…she’ll adjust. You’re doing a great job, Pam!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Jan 18, 2008 @ 18:53:42

    Jennifer – that is the ideal situation isn’t it? I wish all workplaces had onsite daycares for mothers who do want to breastfeed and check on their children.

    Jayne – I love the new baby smell and chubby cheeks, too. I haven’t had to change diapers. Yet. I’m not looking forward to that day. Blech. Seeing a huge blood clot come out of an older child’s nose the other day almost made me throw up and I did end up with a sick stomach all night long from it. I don’t know how I’m going to do the diaper bit.

    Mary – I know, aren’t they huge? Thanks Mary! It’s a tough job, for sure!

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Jan 19, 2008 @ 10:28:54

    Liza – I know many of the parents leave the center crying, and the children cry for a while, too. It’s so sad. It is hard to find stable caregivers at such low pay. This is one field that should be subsidized by the state somehow so the teachers can get paid much more to take care of these important children.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

