Quilting

My Mom was working on one of her quilts yesterday and I was capturing photos and video of her telling me stories of herself and her own Mom. You know how much I love hands, especially my parents’ hands. Here’s my Mom’s hands working on her quilt at the sewing machine. This is so precious to me not only because I love her hands, but because those hands taught me to sew on the sewing machine when I was seven and I haven’t stopped since. We both love to sew.

DSC03278

She’s working on the double wedding ring quilt, which she says will take her the rest of her life.

DSC03277

I don’t think so. She works fast.

DSC03285

She is working to convert my Dad’s room into her sewing room. I painted the walls in my Dad’s room for him two summers ago, but it reminds her of him, so she’s going to change it, even though the paint is still relatively fresh.

I thought the heads on her quilting pins in her pin-cushion made a cool close-up photo:

DSC03283

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 01:34:06

    Those are wonderful photos! That is such a great idea recording your mother telling you about her mother. I wish I had done that.

    Reply

  2. jayne
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 07:50:49

    I am always in awe of people who can do this. Lovely images of your mom’s wonderful, artful hands creating beauty Pam.

    Reply

  3. mary
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 08:41:41

    This is a loving post. Great job with that pin cushion!

    Reply

  4. Sandy
    Jan 23, 2008 @ 18:41:47

    Someday I am going to do that quilt.
    This a wonderful post, Pam.

    Reply

  5. Mary Carlson
    Jan 24, 2008 @ 01:56:39

    Hi Pam – this is a nice tribute to your Mom and the beautiful work she is doing. Such lovely memories for both of you. If your mom completes the quilt as soon as you think she will, you’ll be able to share the finished project in a future post.

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 19:19:54

    Linda – I wish I had done it with my Dad. I was about to before he passed. So I’m not going to miss the opportunity with my Mom.

    Jayne – Thanks!

    Mary – Thank you!

    Sandy – I’d love to see your progress photos Sandy!

    Mary C – Thank you. She put it away, so it won’t be for a while, hmmm. I was hoping she would continue with it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

