“Hairy Vine, No Friend of Mine”

I know I have poison ivy in various places around my backyard, but I didn’t know for sure until looking for things to photograph recently that it is one of the vines growing up the Shagbark Hickory in my backyard.

DSC03251
“Hairy Vine, No Friend of Mine”

One may think this is not dangerous right now because it *looks* dormant, but touching it now is just as bad as touching it with leaves. No touchy, touchy ever!! I sooooo don’t want to get poison ivy on my skin ever again! Even though I would love to find out what those hairs feel like. And even though I would have loved to get a macro photo of the hairs, this was as close as I was going to get to the whole thing.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MojoMan
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 23:45:54

    I’ve had poison ivy on a big maple in my backyard for years. As long as it stays there, I let it be. I like the shiny red leaves in summer and appreciate their splash of red in the fall. There are those who instinctively ask why I don’t kill it. Maybe that’s why I let it live.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 23:49:26

    MojoMan – As long as it stays put on the tree, I’ll leave it alone, too, especially since I didn’t realize it was there until now because there is at least one other vine growing up this tree. I agree with you, the red leaves are beautiful in the fall; especially this past fall where the color was so vivid for so long.

    Reply

  3. jayne
    Jan 27, 2008 @ 08:28:48

    My sister pulled roots like this not knowing it was poison oak. She got a systemic case that just about took her over the edge. Numerous steroid injections and nights of crying over the intensity of the itching and rash. I fully respect it too Pam. Leave thee be.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Jan 27, 2008 @ 10:22:52

    Jayne – Oh no, that’s awful! I know what you mean about almost being over the edge. I almost got to that point the last time I had PI. The pain gets very intense.

    Reply

  5. mon@rch
    Jan 27, 2008 @ 11:18:40

    Pam, I am very lucky since we don’t have poison ivy “much” in this area. Not being allergic keeps me from always trying to focus on it but I still need to be careful (not to take advantage of not being allergic). Be careful!

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Jan 27, 2008 @ 11:30:25

    Mon@rch – you are very lucky! It seems to be popping up in many of the places I visit. Glad it isn’t in your area so I can relax when I visit! I’m being very careful, thanks! I don’t need that pain again!

    Reply

  7. winterwoman
    Jan 29, 2008 @ 09:01:13

    I never heard that poem… Here’s the one I teach kids:

    Leaves of three, let it be.
    Vines with hair, beware!

    Now I will add “Hairy Vine, No friend of mine!”

    Thanks!

    Reply

  8. Susan Gets Native
    Feb 01, 2008 @ 00:51:08

    No, Pam! Don’t touch! Don’t stroke! Resist!!!!!!!

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Feb 03, 2008 @ 00:10:32

    Winterwoman – I like your poem, too!

    Susan – I’ll. Try. Not. To. Stroke. It. Hee hee!! No way will I get near it at all!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

