My Dad’s Scissors

My Mom had a pair of my Dad’s scissors on the kitchen table yesterday, and it brought back memories. One of his jobs at the NY Telephone Company was as an electrician and he was one of the lucky guys to work up the poles and down in the manholes (yuck). In the manholes he had to splice wires, and hence the need for these scissors. He also used them quite a bit around the house.

DSC03346
My Dad’s electrician’s scissors, one of many pair he had.

DSC03350

Wiss 175E5 made in the U.S.A.

They are Wiss 175E5 5″ electrician scissors with serrations along the entire bottom blade. There are two notches for stripping different gauges of wire (19 gauge and 23 gauge). He used to wear them in a holder that would attach somehow to his belt.

DSC03347_crop

View showing the serrations and two notches.

Even though these are older than I can remember, they are still very sharp. Now that’s a good pair of scissors!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary Carlson
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 20:30:07

    Isn’t it amazing, Pam, that we can see something that is still of excellent quality – and made in the U.S.A! I always felt that Wiss was the best made scissors. Now there’s an idea for a post – finding quality made products that boast of being manufactured here in the United States. Thanks for sharing your memories with us.

    Reply

  2. mary
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 21:48:49

    Pam, they’re a nice keepsake, too. Put them in a safe place :o)

    Reply

  3. mon@rch
    Feb 05, 2008 @ 00:03:18

    Interesting Scissors for sure and didn’t know anything like this existed! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Feb 05, 2008 @ 06:47:44

    Mary C – I was glad to see these were made in the U.S.A., too! That is a good idea for a post!

    Mary – They are! I asked her never to get rid of them. She said she won’t!

    Mon@rch – They sure are! I only knew because they were attached to my Dad more often than not since he was always working!

    Reply

  5. jayne
    Feb 05, 2008 @ 07:52:43

    Good scissors are highly underrated. So wonderful that you still have this pair that he used so often. Sweet memories…

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Feb 06, 2008 @ 07:10:41

    Jayne – They sure are. There’s nothing like a good pair of scissors to turn anything normally hard into soft butter.

    Reply

  7. MojoMan
    Feb 06, 2008 @ 23:43:23

    Like Monarch, I had never heard of electrician’s scissors. I guess they’re a specialty for folks who work with fine wire. It’s great to see high-quality American-made tools. When I buy a tool these days, I encourage myself to look for good USA-made ones. They’ll last longer, and work better and just might last long enough that they will help someone remember me when I’m gone.

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Feb 07, 2008 @ 07:45:26

    MojoMan – Nothing like high quality stuff! My Dad liked to buy USA made tools also and my Mom has all of his tools. She also had a pair of his pliers out on Sunday, too, that he had forever, but he had accidentally left them on the roof before he passed and they started getting a bit rusty, so I didn’t photograph those.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

