Ice, Not So Nice

I’m tired of ice. This is New York State. We’re supposed to have tons of snow. Not ice, slush and rain every other day. I have ice two inches thick on my driveway. I can’t even wheel my garbage containers to the curb because of the ice. I’m done with it. I’m staying inside until it stops. That’s not a threat, it’s a promise.  Because nobody knows how to drive on ice.

I am requesting a melting of the ice on my driveway, then some real winter snow. It doesn’t need to be deep like when I was a kid, but just sufficient so it can protect plant roots and so I can play in it for a little while.

Snow-p1
March 6, 1971, LaFayette, NY

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mon@rch
    Feb 06, 2008 @ 20:37:24

    wonderful snow photo and I hear you with the ice! Although, right now we are dealing with flooding!! Our ice is gone! Not sure which I would rather have!

    Reply

  2. mary
    Feb 06, 2008 @ 22:05:59

    Do not, under any circumstances, drive on ice. I haven’t and never will. NO ONE can drive on ice safely. Of course, you know that and are making a wise decision to stay inside until it melts.

    I like driving on snow. It’s a challenge but not here in Charlotte with these crazies who don’t realize the freaking snow can be slippery.

    Reply

  3. Linda
    Feb 07, 2008 @ 03:26:01

    Last Friday morning we had an ice storm for a short while. My mother-in-law fell in the parking lot of her workplace and broke her wrist. Another lady that works there fell a few hours before coming into work from her car and broke her arm. One of the maintenance workers pulled into the parking lot to put some salt down and his truck slid into the dumpsters.

    I got my big SUV for winter but I’m like you, I won’t drive on ice, even big trucks can’t handle the ice. (Of course, I don’t work outside my home so I don’t have to worry about getting to work.)

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Feb 07, 2008 @ 07:39:47

    Mon@rch – Thanks – the snow photo has a story that my Dad wrote along with other snow photos – it you want to read them you can click on the date. Oh, it’s been doing both here, ice and melting and ice and melting causing havoc in various places. Very weird weather!

    Mary – I’m so tired of ice I just want to move to a warm climate and deal with something else like sand storms and large icky bugs.

    Linda – Ohhh, I feel bad for your MIL and the other lady. Our parking lot was a sheet of ice yesterday.

    Reply

  5. jayne
    Feb 07, 2008 @ 07:57:46

    Ice=scary. I’m with you, snow until the cows come home, but ice…. go away.

    Reply

  6. mary
    Feb 07, 2008 @ 22:34:05

    Sandstorms and large, icky bugs? You have got to be kidding me.

    Reply

  7. Sandy
    Feb 08, 2008 @ 07:28:10

    Pam, we might be getting all your snow over this way. I am getting very tired of it, too. Although, I like it better than ice, for sure. Just opened the shades for the day, and yes, it is snowing again!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

