My Fingerprinting Saga

So in order to work with children the state requires everyone be fingerprinted. Which, in my case, is easier said than done.

Fingerprintonpaper

Not my fingerprint

I first went to get fingerprinted on October 18, 2007. Remember my post “Do All Old Sears Buildings Look Alike?” That was my first attempt at fingerprinting. My second attempt was on October 19th. The lady smashed my fingers into the ink pad and smashed them onto the paper, and what did I know? She sent them in and the big black blobs got rejected.

So I went back to the Sears building and someone else did them. And I waited a month. And I called the man who did them. And he said he didn’t remember me and they must have gotten lost. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

So I went to the local police station near where I work. And got a third set of black blobs done, sent in, and three weeks later, rejected. By this time I’ve had it. I’m done. Forget it.

But I was out with my friend Josie and she was driving and after we had done what we were out for she told me she was taking me back to the police station. I went kicking and screaming. I told her NO! But we went anyway. And I told the man, this is my fourth attempt and I don’t think I have any fingerprints since they always turn out as black blobs. He looked at my hands closely and said “do you use your hands a lot?” Uh, yeah, all of the time ever since I was very young. He said I have worm my fingerprint pads down to almost nothing. OMG. I’m not that old! What are they going to be like when I’m 90? But he being a policeman knew exactly what to do (I hope). He used a special ink pad and took my prints very gently and they actually may go through this time. If not, I AM so done trying.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liza Lee Miller
    Feb 10, 2008 @ 11:51:02

    Wow! What an amazing tale. I’ve had my fingerprints taken many times too. Are you sure you don’t want to be a secret agent or live a secret life of crime. Think of the fingerprintless possibilities!

    Reply

  2. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Feb 10, 2008 @ 12:04:22

    I’m thinking like Liza that maybe you’re a diamond thief and have filed of your fingerprints! Wasn’t that a story in a movie? At least you finally got an experienced police officer who saw the problem and knew how to get around it. Do you think it has to do with working on a keyboard alot?

    Reply

  3. Sandy
    Feb 10, 2008 @ 12:18:16

    I have never been fingerprinted. Just looked at my fingers and don’t see much there, either. Wonder if it is from gardening or just too much heavy cleaning??

    Reply

  4. Linda in Erie
    Feb 10, 2008 @ 12:23:51

    Ya, me too. I’m looking at my fingers and my left finger pads look like I just came out of soaking in water, all wavy. My right is pretty torn up from chemicals and working with wood. We women work too hard!

    Reply

  5. mon@rch
    Feb 10, 2008 @ 20:30:01

    O my goodness! I had wondered what happened and glad you have it figured out! Must be a hard worker to have lost all your fingerprints!

    Reply

  6. mary
    Feb 10, 2008 @ 21:03:47

    What have you done to your fingers? I was fingerprinted once in 1988 before I got employed at a high school. No problem. I just looked at my thumbs. I still have prints. Hope this works out for you!!!!!

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Feb 10, 2008 @ 21:38:40

    Liza – I know, I’ve been being teased about it by everybody. I can’t do it though!

    Lynne – That and playing the piano every day and sewing, knitting, embroidering, cleaning, gardebubgm etc. etc. – anything to keep busy.

    Sandy – It could be both and crafting, too.

    Mon@rch – Yeah, I never got back to you on all of my fingerprint failures! Yup, I work soooo hard! LOL!

    Mary – Worked hard since a young age doing lots of different things!

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Feb 10, 2008 @ 21:39:34

    Linda – We sure do!

    Reply

  9. Apple
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 09:25:27

    I had to get fingerprinted years ago. A real pain in the neck but mine must have come out ok. I understand the reasoning behind it but the creeps still seem to find ways to get jobs around kids.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

