Wimpy Wimpy Wimpy

So I woke up to the news on the radio this morning and heard schools around the area, including the ones we serve at work, were closed. I’m thinking ‘oh great, there must be tons of snow outside.’ So I rip open the curtain and there was nothing. It was a beautiful morning. WTF? Turns out it was too cold for kids to go to school. Already then. Sounds a little wimpy to me, or should I say, real wimpy. My Mom used to bundle us up to wait for the school bus in all sorts of weather. The only time school was closed was when the road was closed, like my Dad had described here.

Snow-p5

People these days have NO spines. I sleep with my window open every night and have ever since I was very little, no matter what the weather. So to say cold air hurts kids is, IMHO, bunk.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 21:09:21

    I agree- I think we’ve gtten awefully wimpy too. Although our particular school district is always the last to list a closing (much to my kids’ dismay!)

    I sleep with the window open all year too!

    Reply

  2. mon@rch
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 22:26:46

    I don’t remember snow days with temps being this cold! I remember so many times my nose hairs freezing while at the bus stop!

    Reply

  3. mary
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 22:30:28

    Yes, we have gotten wimpy – meaning “society”. Afraid of lawsuits. I remember schools being closed one day on account of frigid temps in DE – the wind chills were -15 or something like that. When I was a kidk, we wore “snow suits”.

    Reply

  4. Linda in Erie
    Feb 12, 2008 @ 00:36:39

    I remember walking to school crying because it was so cold (when I was young living in Minnesota.) My mom would tell me stories of herself waiting for the bus in the rural areas around Hector, MN when her tears froze to her cheeks. Tears are salty, so that had to be pretty cold. I think it is the lawsuit scares that keep them from having school. And the icy conditions for the buses.

    Reply

  5. Nina
    Feb 12, 2008 @ 19:51:52

    It’s not unusual for them to close schools the night before, here.
    And, sometimes snow hasn’t fallen yet, but you know, it could be bad driving, so let’s play it safe, right?

    But the weatherman gets it wrong more often than right.

    Reply

  6. laurie
    Feb 12, 2008 @ 23:26:38

    As you say, the only time our schools were closed was when the snow blocked the roads. But to be honest, I loved snow days…we always did something fun like walk to the skating rink or go sledding.

    Reply

  7. Susan Gets Native
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 19:40:07

    Sissies, all of ’em.
    I shudder to think of some of the days I had to go to school during snow storms in rural Indiana, with a foot of snow. And now, the girls’ schools close when one flake hits the ground.
    YOU BUNCH OF NANCY-BOYS!!!!!!

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 19:54:30

    Lynne – Yay, it isn’t just me! I’m such a fresh air kid!

    Mon@rch – LOL! Nose hairs freezing to the sides of your nose is no fun!

    Mary – Snowsuits – what a concept, huh? My Mom bundled us up real good. I never remember being too cold no matter the temp/wind chill.

    Linda – Bummer that you and your Mom cried in the cold. That would be a good reason to close school.

    Nina – They’re always sooo wrong here, too!

    Laurie – I loved snow days too! Usually spent outside playing *in* the snow!!!

    Susan – LOL!!!!! There wasn’t a flake to be found the other day!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

