One of My Valentine’s Gifts

Tonight I got busy making a huge glass baking pan of Artichoke French for my Mom for Valentine’s Day (yes, they’re a couple of days late, but she’ll love them anyway)! I buy a 5.5 lb can of Ruby Artichokes from my local Italian market. These are the best artichoke hearts – they’re huge and soft.

DSC03379

I drain the artichoke hearts

DSC03380

and while they’re draining I prepare the flour mixture, beat the eggs and get the oil heating in the skillet. Then I cut the artichoke hearts in half and drain them some more, put them in the flour mixture,

DSC03385

then the eggs,

DSC03387

and into the skillet to brown.

DSC03383

After they’re browned on both sides,

DSC03384

I put the cooked artichokes on paper towels to drain

DSC03386
I haven’t achieved the art of keeping all of the breading on the artichokes yet, but Mom still loves them!

then into the glass baking pan.

DSC03389

In a sauce pan I make the olive oil sauce to cover the cooked artichoke hearts.

DSC03391

Once I pour the boiled sauce over the artichokes, they’re almost drowning in the sauce.

DSC03393

They’re ready to take to Mom’s, where tomorrow we’ll pop them in the oven for 30 minutes and she’ll be in heaven! And I’m sure she’ll share with me. Well, maybe!

P.S. I really don’t know how people cook and photograph at the same time. I must be the messiest cook on the planet! I steamed the lens accidentally while photographing the boiling sauce

DSC03392

and I got flour/egg all over the camera, and my new Roman shade.

DSC03388
Good thing the shade is washable!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth
    Feb 15, 2008 @ 21:38:46

    Interesting recipe, nothing like I have seen or tasted before. I have only had artichoke hearts as a pizza topping and wouldn’t have clue what to do with them.

    Reply

  2. jayne
    Feb 15, 2008 @ 22:13:07

    LOL Pam… I am the messiest cook too so I can soooo relate! Looks so yummy!

    Reply

  3. Liza Lee Miller
    Feb 15, 2008 @ 23:51:17

    Looks great. Being here in Central California – AKA Artichoke Capitol of the World – we eat a lot of artichokes. That looks like a good recipe. Yum! In Castroville, there are tons of restaurants that specialize in deep fried artichoke hearts. Delish!

    Reply

  4. Llinda in Erie
    Feb 16, 2008 @ 00:50:42

    Whole artichokes are one of my favorite foods. The way you cook up those artichoke hearts looks really yummy. Fattening but yummy!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Feb 16, 2008 @ 12:41:22

    Ruth – I didn’t either until I met Mario’s wife who made them for us when my Dad passed. And it’s been great ever since!

    Jayne – Mmmmm, they are!

    Liza – Ohhhh, you’re so lucky living in artichoke heaven! I love artichoke hearts and eat them almost every day!

    Linda – Mine too! They are really yummy. Fattening, yes, but at least the fat is good for us 😉

    Reply

  6. mon@rch
    Feb 16, 2008 @ 20:36:53

    Hmm, that looks good! Wonderful present!

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Feb 16, 2008 @ 22:36:52

    Mon@rch – mmmm, they were good! Thanks!

    Reply

  8. Susan Gets Native
    Feb 18, 2008 @ 23:54:46

    Geoff would go ga-ga over those. He really, really likes artichokes.
    I don’t know if I could find a 5 lb can of them, but maybe on a smaller scale….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

