George Eastman House – Dutch Connection 2008

Today Mom and I went to the George Eastman House to see the Dutch Connection 2008 where we saw over 2,000 forced bulbs in the exhibition. For those that were reading my blog last year, here’s my post from last year’s visit. This first view for me is a sight for winter bored eyes

DSC03412

The colors are gorgeous again this year

DSC03419_45deg

Views from the 2nd floor

DSC03438

DSC03439

The amaryllis were absolutely huge and gorgeous

DSC03418

The reason for the difference between last year’s display and this year’s display is they try to order the same bulbs George Eastman ordered 100 years ago.

The orchids were also as gorgeous as ever

DSC03411

DSC03422

I couldn’t get too close to this one because it was behind a rope

DSC03427

While I love new technology, I also love seeing old technology. An old phone with no dial

DSC03426

And a phonograph, with some cylinder records next to it

DSC03428

I love the spindles in the grand staircase, representing ships’ ropes

DSC03442

Looking over the banister, here’s a view of the stairs

DSC03437

Every time I visit I see many new things that I overlooked before. Here’s a view from George Eastman’s mother’s bedroom window of the garden in winter

DSC03434

I know I’ve mentioned this before, but I love the symmetry of the house and garden. I’ll have to remember to look out this window in the summer time. Here’s a link to my post of my visit to the garden last summer.

P.S.  We went back to my Mom’s home and had dinner, including the Artichoke French, mmmmm!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mary
    Feb 16, 2008 @ 23:08:23

    From here, I’m intoxicated with fragrance. Were you overcome? I loved this, Pam. What a wonderful day, topped off by a great dinner with Mom.

    Reply

  2. laurie
    Feb 17, 2008 @ 00:53:13

    What great photos. Really an incredible display. Thanks for taking us along.

    Reply

  3. Llinda in Erie
    Feb 17, 2008 @ 01:51:40

    Wow, that is so totally gorgeous! It is almost shocking to see such wonderful color after the gray and white of winter. Great pictures.

    Reply

  4. Liza Lee Miller
    Feb 17, 2008 @ 02:18:02

    Glorious! Thank you for that amazing blast of color!

    Reply

  5. jayne
    Feb 17, 2008 @ 08:19:40

    Oh. My. Goodness. I am in heaven just LOOKING at those photos Pam! I can’t imagine being there in the flesh. Lucky duck you!

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Feb 17, 2008 @ 08:56:59

    Mary – I would have been overcome with the smells if I still didn’t have the freakin’ cold from hell! But the sight was wonderful!

    Laurie – Thanks, it is a great place!

    Linda – It sure is shocking, I have to stare at it for a long time to take it all in!

    Liza – Thank you, and you’re welcome!

    Jayne – I’m glad you’re in heaven, I was, too! I love going there!

    Reply

  7. mon@rch
    Feb 17, 2008 @ 11:14:32

    so many amazing photos but those flower shots are amazing! WOW

    Reply

  8. Ruth
    Feb 17, 2008 @ 19:18:45

    Beautiful pictures! but you had to post one snow shot to remind us it is still winter 😉

    Reply

  9. cathy Wilson
    Feb 21, 2008 @ 12:54:57

    OH! Those flowers . . . . beautiful. You’ve inspired me to head to the local greenhouse and get a little reminder of Spring.

    Reply

  10. Mel
    Feb 24, 2008 @ 22:22:53

    Love the colors! How beautiful! Thank you for sharing your pics and ‘walking’ us thru that experience : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

