Turkeys

The turkeys were back across the road from where I park at work again this week. While I’m munching my lunch I love watching these guys move around.

DSC03473

I wish I could get better far-away photos with the camera I carry with me, but you get the idea!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Feb 23, 2008 @ 11:43:32

    They really are pretty birds. They used to be seen only in the far southern part of Minnesota but recently have been seen pretty far north in the state.

    Reply

  2. cathy Wilson
    Feb 23, 2008 @ 14:50:50

    Get outta here! Those creatures show up on a regular basis? How neat is that?!

    Reply

  3. mon@rch
    Feb 23, 2008 @ 20:22:43

    I think this is a great photo and love seeing them move around together! Great Job!

    Reply

  4. mary
    Feb 23, 2008 @ 20:42:52

    That is so cool. Why don’t you go visit them?

    Reply

  5. Ruth
    Feb 23, 2008 @ 23:04:04

    I drove 186 km today looking for wild turkeys….
    A flock of them caused a traffic jam during rush hour one exit from our home on Friday afternoon, but I missed them and they are nowhere to be found today!
    Nice pictures.

    Reply

  6. Linda in Erie
    Feb 24, 2008 @ 02:08:23

    I love wild turkeys. I have seen them roost in trees at my sister’s property. They are so big it was hard to believe they could fly up to a tree branch.

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Feb 24, 2008 @ 09:34:45

    Lynne – They are pretty! I love it when the sun shines off their feathers.

    Cathy – Yup, we see them all of the time around these parts now!

    Mon@rch – Thanks!

    Mary – Thanks. I’m probably as close to them without going on someone else’s property as I could get without scaring them. They are very skiddish! They run and/or fly at any little sound!

    Ruth – OMG, but I love your Snowy Owl photos!

    Linda – I couldn’t believe my eyeballs the first time I saw a turkey fly up into a tree. I had the camera in my hand and could have video’d it but was too stunned watching it. Maybe next time!

    Reply

  8. Nina
    Feb 25, 2008 @ 20:54:07

    What a nice view for your break–I have a black-topped lot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

