On The Edge

On the way home tonight I was enjoying the sunshine while traveling towards the lake (Lake Ontario). There was a very distinctive weather system generating over the lake. Like a wall of clouds coming up from the lake. I wish you could have seen it, it was pretty scary looking (I tried photographing it but didn’t get anything good because I was driving). I was hoping my home wasn’t on the wrong side of that wall of clouds, and thankfully it wasn’t. The sun did make the clouds on the edge a pretty peach color.

DSC03594
On the edge of the lake’s scary looking weather system

DSC03596

DSC03598

I’m glad I don’t live on the east end of this lake with this system going across the lake. This really cold weather is enough to deal with for now!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mary
    Feb 28, 2008 @ 21:00:23

    I always feel invigorated when a weather system is on the way, especially when you can see it! Cold, cold, cold. Here, too, Pam.

    Reply

  2. mon@rch
    Feb 28, 2008 @ 21:18:43

    Lake Erie is almost froze over which does slow down our lake effect! It was a stunning sky today and I know exactly how you felt seeing it!

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Feb 28, 2008 @ 21:22:20

    Mary – I was scared and hoping I wasn’t going to drive into it! It is ass cold here!!

    Mon@rch – Yay, that’s good! Lake Ontario doesn’t freeze over that I know of and I feel for those that live to the east of it! I remember flying to and from Arizona over Lake Erie and seeing it frozen! Yay for you!

    Reply

  4. cathy Wilson
    Feb 28, 2008 @ 21:38:08

    Ya know? I totally understand your trepidation. It’s something the way clouds can transport us with their beauty and also send us running for cover. “Ass cold”! LOL!

    Reply

  5. Linda in Erie
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 10:59:45

    Those are very pretty photos of sunsets. At least there is sun there to get a sunset. I need more sunshine here (I’m a former Californian and I don’t adjust well the the winters here.) Everyday except the past two has been gloomy. But I know what is ahead, gorgeous, gorgeous days of summer with warm, sunsets on the beaches of Lake Erie eating Ben and Jerry’s ice cream as the sun sinks into the water. That’s why we stay.

    Reply

  6. jayne
    Feb 29, 2008 @ 17:37:18

    Oh, so very beautiful just the same. Spring is so on the way. Hang on tight!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

