Winter Vegetable Chowder

Mmmm, I found this recipe in the March Good Housekeeping magazine and shared it with my Mom. She made it last week and it was yummy, so I made it today, mmmm. If you want to see the original recipe without my modifications you can find it here.

I chopped the leeks and celery and put the parsnips in the food processor. Anything I don’t like in chunks (like carrots) ends up in the food processor.

DSC03602

All mixed together getting soft in the pot:

DSC03603

Cut-up butternut squash and potatoes (the store didn’t have red potatoes so I used Yukon Gold, and I keep the skins on because that’s where the nutrition is):

DSC03605

Mmmm, leeks, celery & parsnips are soft:

DSC03606

and ready for the rest of the ingredients:

DSC03609

And while this was cooking, I decided to make chocolate pudding for dinner:

DSC03613

The powder from the box:

DSC03614

The soy milk mixed in and now for the stirring and waiting for the boiling:

DSC03615

Stirring and waiting. . .

DSC03616

I actually washed up the dishes while waiting for this to boil. I don’t stir it the whole time! Dishes were done and still no boiling. So I decided to photograph the bowls I use for the pudding. I couldn’t get a good photo of the bowls themselves, except for the bottom. They’re some old Hall bowls I bought at a flea market when I was collecting Hall china.

DSC03617

Finally! It’s boiling!

DSC03621

And cooling in the bowls:

DSC03625

Mmmm, I love Saturday night dinners!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 16:35:29

    Yum!! I’ll be right over!! Save me a spot. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 16:51:28

    Come on Lynne! I haven’t eaten it yet! I’ll keep it warm for you! 😉

    Reply

  3. cathy Wilson
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 20:12:51

    You Cutie!!

    It’s nice to see someone who’s pushing back at the winter gloom and doing something creative and yummy!

    Reply

  4. mon@rch
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 20:49:03

    This looks soo good Pam! Hmm

    Reply

  5. mary
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 21:11:50

    Looks yummy! I had my dinner two hours ago and now I’m hungry again. Thanks!

    Reply

  6. jayne
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 21:47:44

    Dinner never photographed so well! Looks like it was so delicous!

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 22:57:06

    Cathy – Cooking is very relaxing to me as long as I’m not under pressure! It does make me forget about the icky weather outside.

    Mon@rch – Thanks! Mmmmm, it is!!!

    Mary – It was, it’s a really good recipe. I love it when I come across a recipe that I really like.

    Jayne – Thanks, it was!

    Reply

  8. Ruth
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 09:50:36

    I didn’t know you had a recipe blog. I love looking at food! This looks yummy (and healthy).

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 10:48:29

    Ruth – I do, too! I need to add photos to my recipe blog, though!! Thanks, this is an excellent recipe I think you would like!

    Reply

  10. Diana
    Apr 04, 2008 @ 07:30:51

    I love making soup – that’s pretty close to my ingredients I use except I use onions instead of leeks. looks yummy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

