Garden Store Opens!

Yay! One of our favorite garden stores is open for spring again!! It’s the one that has the model trains that I posted about here, and they close after Christmas and open March 1st. We expected to see flowers today, but they weren’t out yet. But they have lots of pretty gloves:

DSC03627
The gloves on the left are new (to me) and VERY comfortable. They’re expensive, but I may just have to have a pair of these! They’re a brand called Womanswork. They kind of look like my gym gloves except they have fingertips. I like the pretty colors of mud gloves they have this year, too!

After I took this photo my Mom said “Do you have to photograph everything?” My response, of course, was “YES!” I mean after all, I have a blog and I *have* to have photos, and I *like* taking photos. I told her to ignore the woman with the camera!

They had some really pretty pots!

DSC03631
Hey, what’s with that freakin’ plastic bag junking up my photo! I didn’t notice that until now, else I would have *moved* it!

They had some flowering bromeliads in the houseplant section (we had to satisfy our need to see plants by going into the houseplants section):

DSC03628

DSC03630

DSC03629

And I love looking at all of the seed packages (even though I don’t buy these seeds):

DSC03633

I can’t *wait* to see the forced bulbs, lilies, and primroses, etc.!!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mary
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 21:05:59

    Pam, I always have my camera wherever I go and feel conspicuous when I whip it out of my bag…LOL! I look around to see if anything is watching, then I focus and snap! I care a little bit if people think I’m NUTS. I just want to turn around and say to those watching, “Hey, I have a freaking blog, OK????”

    Your pics are nice. Makes me want to shop in the garden store soon :o)

    Reply

  2. Liza Lee Miller
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 21:06:53

    Wow! We do not have a garden store that cool here. However, I have to say that the idea of a seasonal garden store was a little surprising to me — here in the land without snow. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 21:20:15

    Mary – I do, too re: my camera! Yeah, it’s all about the freakin’ blog for sure!! Ohhh, go shopping Mary and show us your photos so I can drool!

    Liza – This garden store is really cool! It is the only garden store in the area that closes for a couple of months – but these guys work their butts off 10 months a year (I know the guys and they are very hard workers). They deserve 2 months off!

    Reply

  4. mon@rch
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 22:20:53

    The Garden Store has all kinds of colors for the spring time! Those flowers are also amazing and I bet they were wondering what you were doing with your camera like what Mary said! LOL

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 22:37:20

    Mon@rch – I was surprised at all of the colors for spring – they’re all so cool! Nobody cared there what I was doing with my camera except my Mom!!

    Reply

  6. Dave
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 23:43:58

    There is something really satisfying about seeing all those seed packs lined up!

    Reply

  7. jayne
    Mar 03, 2008 @ 07:30:35

    Oh, I could just drown in all that color!!!! Thanks for sharing the peek of spring to come in the colors of all the gloves, pots, and flowers!

    Reply

  8. Linda in Erie
    Mar 03, 2008 @ 14:00:16

    That really is a cool store. We have a couple that I just love going in to. Stores like that are half the fun of gardening!

    Reply

  9. Mel
    Mar 03, 2008 @ 16:20:53

    No garden stores here 😦
    Enjoy it for me, pleeeeease!!! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Sandy
    Mar 03, 2008 @ 17:36:49

    I love those blue pots on the end of the shelf! Sounds like a great place to visit to me. This afternoon, I was in the grocery store with a friend, and made the comment that the peppers (three colors) would make a nice shot against the burlap background. She was very glad I didn’t have my camera, I think.

    Those gloves are too pretty to get dirty!

    Reply

  11. cathy Wilson
    Mar 03, 2008 @ 20:25:38

    Oh, Honey! That’s the prettiest post I’ve seen in a long time. The color, colors, COLORS. Yea! We’ve all got a dream of getting down in dirty (in our gardens;0)

    Reply

  12. Susan Gets Native
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 00:08:30

    I was so tickled to see fancy pots on display at the grocery store today! It’s comin’…finally.
    I like those gloves…my favorites are the yellow/purple ones!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

