Wedding Anniversary

Today is my parents’ Wedding Anniversary. I feel so bad for my Mom, I’m hoping the day isn’t going to be too rough for her, being the first anniversary without my Dad.

1955-03-008

My Dad and Mom on their wedding day (scanned from a slide).

My Mom’s tax person suggested she redo her W-4 for this year. She’s submitting it as a single person. Single.?? Not my Mom. She’ll always be married to my Dad in my mind and in her heart.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liza Lee Miller
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 10:12:44

    These holidays and events are so difficult. I felt so badly for my mother-in-law on Valentine’s Day. My father-in-law was a sentimental guy and always gave her roses — usually for no reason at all.

    That picture of your parents is lovely — they look so happy!

    Thinking of all of you today.

    Reply

  2. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 10:19:09

    It really is a joyful picture of your folks. I hope happy memories help carry you and your Mom throughout today.

    Reply

  3. Linda in Erie
    Mar 04, 2008 @ 20:00:57

    I’m sure it will be hard. There are a lot of “firsts” when you lose someone dear to you. You never lose the memories, though. You are lucky to have such a great memory in that photo.

    Reply

  4. jayne
    Mar 05, 2008 @ 07:56:01

    What a sweet, sweet photo. I hope she is able to have a day filled with lovely memories that make her smile.

    Reply

  5. mary
    Mar 05, 2008 @ 22:24:29

    Pam, I agree. But the w-4 is only a piece of paper. She’s still married. Sweet, sweet post :o) I wish your Mom peace.

    Reply

  6. Susie @ GW
    Mar 06, 2008 @ 17:38:38

    Your lovely photo of your parents makes me think about my own two parents. They are 90 and 91, still happily married, and I’m going to be moving them out of the assisted living where they are now and back into their own home when I retire in April. I can’t imagine one without the other. God Bless!

    Reply

  7. cathy Wilson
    Mar 17, 2008 @ 21:38:02

    Awwww…. I hope she got through the day OK. That’s such a sweet picture.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

