Broccoli Cauliflower Casserole

Since I was homebound this past weekend from the snowstorm (which doesn’t bother me one bit) I made a Broccoli Cauliflower casserole from one of the vegan vegetarian cookbooks on my cookbook shelf.

I cut up two purple onions (I love these onions) and minced five garlic cloves.
DSC03646_sl

I cut the broccoli, cauliflower and carrots into bite-sized (or smaller) pieces.
DSC03647_sl

And even though the recipe says put these all together in a pan and saute for 7 minutes, I don’t do that. My Mom taught me to saute the onions and garlic first until the onions are transparent, like here:
DSC03650_sl

And then I add the other veggies:
DSC03653_sl

While these are cooking I work on the sauce:
DSC03652_sl

These are the herbs/spices for the sauce:
DSC03651_sl

Waiting for the sauce to boil/thicken:
DSC03655_sl

And finally, everything in the casserole dish ready for the oven:
DSC03657_sl

Mmmm, I love this casserole!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wren
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 08:11:17

    Oh, yummy – it makes we want to go cook something myself!

    Reply

  2. mary
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 09:25:13

    Sounds wonderful. I love the purple onions, too.

    Reply

  3. Linda in Erie
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 10:31:15

    It looks so good I can almost smell it. This would make a great potluck dish!

    Reply

  4. Cis
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 11:56:59

    Looks VERY good. I saute up my onions and garlic before the veggies … brings out the flavours more somehow!

    Reply

  5. mon@rch
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 22:38:54

    Hmm, Hmm, Hmm, Looks good!

    Reply

  6. jayne
    Mar 12, 2008 @ 06:47:09

    Oh my… my mouth is watering Pam! And the sauce recipe????

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Mar 12, 2008 @ 19:08:27

    Wren – Good, I can’t wait to see what you cook up!

    Mary – Me too – they’re the only onions I buy!

    Linda – It would!

    Cis – I agree, it does!

    Mon@rch – Thanks!

    Jayne – I’ll share it soon!

    Reply

  8. Susan Gets Native
    Mar 13, 2008 @ 23:11:54

    Wow…that looks good enough to eat.

    Reply

  9. sissy
    May 03, 2009 @ 17:10:33

    ok am i a moron or what….where is the complete recipe??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

