A Book Meme

I saw this on Winter Woman’s blog here.

The Rules:

1. Pick up the nearest book. (okay, I have a pile of books near me, picking one up. . .)
2. Open to page 123. (since my page 123 only has two sentences, I’m using page 122).
3. Find the fifth sentence.
4. Post the next three sentences.

“There was a light snow a few days before, just a crust under the trees, and mud everywhere else. I was looking for fungas, ye know, the big orange things that grow on the trees low down, sometimes – and put my foot through a rind of snow into a patch of grass, growing in an open spot between the trees; reckon a little sun got there sometimes. Usually the deer find those patches. . . .”

Questions:

1. Do you know what book my quote comes from? (Hint: I’ve mentioned the author before as one of my favorites)!

2. Do you want to play (/procrastinate)?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mary
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 20:22:26

    Pam, I don’t recall your favorite authors but the quote certainly would come from a book you would like. I have a stack of books on my nightstand – all partially read. I’ll pick up one of them before I go to bed.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 21:01:28

    Mary – Glad it’s not just me who has several books going at once! I do the same thing – read before I go to sleep. In fact, it’s about that time. . .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

