Snow and Flowers

Last Friday I awoke to the sound of a snow plow going down my street. What the heck? There were five inches of fresh, spring snow that fell overnight.

DSC03715_sl

Lovely, really, it was lovely on the trees in my backyard and on the ones all of the way to work. I wanted to take photos the entire way there, but you know, traffic was an issue.

Then Saturday it was blue skies and beautiful. My daffodils are just a little taller than the last time I showed them to you. They’re trying!

DSC03720_sl

And while I was looking around for plant growth, I heard this beautiful red guy making all kinds of racket in the red maple across the street:
DSC03721_sl_crop

On Sunday my Mom and I pruned her ornamental trees and shrubs. I always forget that I need to keep my mouth shut (no talking) while pruning (sawing) because sawdust flies into my mouth! And as I went to prune her weeping cherry tree, I spied this single little crocus, and it made me smile wide, because it exudes such happiness all in one little flower.

DSC03726_sl

Here’s a side view of the same happy little flower:

DSC03731_hl

And my Mom’s daffodils are up a little higher than mine. Which makes sense, because even though we’re only 20 minutes apart, I’m in a different zone (growing, not time). So my spring starts a little later, but the flip side to that is my fall lasts a little longer.

DSC03736_sl

Happy Wednesday everyone. And I’m sorry I’m cutting down on my blog time, but my time is really at a premium these days!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Apr 03, 2008 @ 17:22:58

    Lovely! I don’t even have a dandelion blooming here. Lots of nice color in the post, and the snow makes a good contrast.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Apr 03, 2008 @ 18:36:53

    Thanks Sandy. Color is coming your way real soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

