Wanna Know One Thing I Really Can’t Stand?

Hearing about people’s illnesses. I’m just too empathetic. Yesterday one of the employees was throwing up and she came to my office with her throw up voice to ask me if she could go home because she was throwing up and she proceeded to tell me the details of what she was throwing up. Now I am a very compassionate, sympathetic / empathetic person, but I really don’t need the details. Because it makes me want to throw up, too.

And another thing, one of the problems of working with women is having to hear when they are having their “monthly” and the details of that, too (and this includes my boss). WTF? Really. Details.  I’m a female, I don’t need “those” details, seriously.

And diarrhea. Why do I have to hear that someone has taken 20,000 Immodium things and still is having diarrhea?

Since when have we gotten so open and vocal about these personal things? I really don’t want to know details, do you? Blech.

Here, let’s have another view of the man with chaps to take our minds off of the gory details:
FRLam08_001
Ahhh, that’s better!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liza Lee Miller
    Apr 12, 2008 @ 20:27:50

    I’m with you! I might mention I’m having my period to explain a mood swing or two but that’s it — no one is interested in anything more than that! Nope, not a bit! I’ll believe my colleagues are ill without the gory details! TMI, people, T.M.I.

    Reply

  2. jayne
    Apr 13, 2008 @ 07:47:09

    LOL Pam! Being in the medical field, people tend to feel free to share lots of details, and so I guess it takes a lot to make me want to put my hands up and say, “Enough please!”

    Reply

  3. Linda in Erie
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 14:38:23

    I guess there isn’t any boundaries now days about what people talk about. I don’t think it was so bad that we were discreet and modest in years past. There was a thing called class back then. It’s kind of like that commercial that says, “Too much information!” When people tell you too personal of stuff they probably feel like they are bonding, going beyond casual friendship to a motherly or sister type of bonding.

    Reply

  4. Mary
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 21:20:26

    Working around small children would be tough for me. I once was offered a job in an elementary school but I declined because I couldn’t even hear about vomit, much less see it.

    I spare details and wonder, too, why some people dwell on theirs. YUCK>

    Reply

  5. Laura
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 23:11:12

    I agree, Pam. TMI!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

