The Kentucky Derby

I love watching the Kentucky Derby. Just the racing part that is. I don’t need to watch the hours before leading up to the thing and after talking about it forever. Hearing My Old Kentucky Home makes me tear up. I love looking at the ladies’ hats, and I would love to taste one of those fresh mint juleps, mmmm. Oh, and I *love* horses.

churchill_08
Not my photo.

I love the beautiful horse farms in Kentucky, the green grass and white fences and of course, the beautiful horses.

How do I know? I actually lived in Kentucky for 11 months of my life. Really. Don’t ask.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jayne
    May 03, 2008 @ 16:57:44

    I’ve been to Churchill Downs a couple of times. My parents were friends with some people who had box seats year round and so got to attend the Derby many times. They both LOVE the races, and will be heading there next week after the Derby is over. I get them official Derby t-shirts each year to wear today in celebration. It’s really exciting! The horses and the flowers and My Old Kentucky home… makes me smile too Pam. :c)

    Reply

  2. Linda in Erie
    May 03, 2008 @ 17:42:07

    I had a race horse in California and followed my horse up and down the state at the races (mostly the state fair and country horse races.) It was loads of fun and very expensive and it was something I’d do all over again even though it broke us. I tear up to that song, too. I love horse racing.

    Reply

  3. mon@rch
    May 03, 2008 @ 20:17:32

    I have never been to a horse track except the fair grounds! I do love watching these three big races but somehow I always seem to have something planned for that time. It has been nice hearing about all the horse race info on NPR recently!

    Reply

  4. Mary
    May 03, 2008 @ 20:49:50

    My next door neighbors (who moved away in September) were from Kentucky and always had a Derby party. I miss that. Not the Derby – just the party :o)

    Reply

  5. Pam
    May 04, 2008 @ 08:15:17

    Jayne – Wow, very cool! It was fun to watch, but then I was so sad the filly had to be put down. Poor girl.

    Linda – that’s very cool!

    Mon@rch – me neither, but I want to try to get the Finger Lakes race track this summer!

    Mary – Party on!

    Reply

  6. Susan Gets Native
    May 06, 2008 @ 23:10:42

    My oldest friend lives in Louisville, and she DREADS Derby Week. The whole freakin’ city goes ape-s**t. But I can definitely appreciate the grandeur of it all.

    Reply

  7. Wilma Clapp
    May 31, 2008 @ 12:34:31

    Yes, we all love the Derby here. I also can’t wait for the World Equestrian Games. We’re getting ready for it here in Lexington, KY. I’ve just published a book about horses and horse farms in this area of the world, Horse Farms & Horse Tales of the Bluegrass.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

