No Herbicides Used Here

I hate to mow my “lawn” because the “weed” flowers are so pretty, even though I’m sure my herbicide, insecticide, pesticide loving neighbors highly disagree. I don’t c*a*r*e how they feel, I really don’t. I’ve paid for this patch of land, what are they gonna do? While they’re mowing their lawns to an inch of its’ life and it turns brown in the heat of the summer, I’m here mowing mine at 3″ and enjoying a green “lawn” all spring/summer/fall.

I took turf in college (so yes, I know *how* to have the perfect lawn) to try to gain an appreciation for lawns (it didn’t work) and ended up learning and appreciating the turf “weeds” the best. I do have some plants in my “lawn” that aren’t typical turf “weeds” must be from previous owners or real tenacious wildflowers.

Daisies are about to burst forth:
DSC04120_fc

Henbit (Lamium amplexicaule) that I don’t mind at all:
DSC04127_fc

It’s very hairy, but doesn’t sting like nettle:
DSC04124_fc

Closer view of the henbit flower:
DSC04127_fc_crop

Dandelions (Taraxacum officinale). Now I’m really sorry to those that *hate* dandelions, but I *love* dandelions. Really. I do.
DSC04155_fc

And someday I’ll tell you all of the reasons why I do, besides it being a really cool flower.
DSC04152_fc

Tons of common blue violets (Viola papilionacea) are blossoming:
DSC04143_fc

I love violet leaves:
DSC04144_fc

Wild strawberries (Fragaria virginiana), mmm, except I never get to eat them because the lawnmower doesn’t ever allow them to mature.
DSC04151_fc

Mmmm, if I could just hold out mowing until they ripen so I could eat these! Or at least the animals could eat them.
DSC04156_fc

Tons of yarrow (Achillea millefolium), mmmm, makes for a soft, nice smelling “lawn” when mowed, and doesn’t mind being cut:
DSC04158_fc

And this little flower, which is all of a 1/4″ across, is making me have to get out my Weeds of the Northeast book, which I had purchased at Cornell Plantations, and then it ended up being one of our turf textbooks. Slender speedwell (Veronica filiformis).
DSC04146_fc

Don’t be sad that this is ending, I have tons of other “weeds” in my “lawn” that I’ll be sharing later! And if you look closely at some of my “weed” photos, you’ll notice there are blades of grass. Hope I didn’t give any lawn affectinados a heart attack with my “lawn.”

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cis
    May 04, 2008 @ 11:41:39

    You have a great lawn. We’d rather not have lawn at all but let the wild stuff hold sway. We put in a “sort of lawn” only until we decide what to do with the yard. The only, so called lawn, that will remain will be over the septic field. I’m sure our neighbours of the immaculate lawns cringe when they look over our way!

    Reply

  2. Liza Lee Miller
    May 04, 2008 @ 11:49:38

    Your lawn is lovely! I’m glad you let the lawn flowers grow. When I put a lawn in before we sold our last house, I tried to add some lawn daisies to it. I wonder if they took! 🙂

    Reply

  3. jason
    May 04, 2008 @ 14:06:20

    Marvelous photos, Pam. You’re like me in that weeds are more a natural beauty than manicured lawns and pruned hedges.

    I’m always fond of henbit. Purple’s my favorite color, so how could I not be smitten by this stunning little mint?

    And I thought I was the only one in the world who loves dandelions! I’ve always thought they were beautiful, delightful plants, whether flowering or in seed or otherwise. Much of that stems from childhood and the memories that go along with the plant, mind you, and their innate beauty, but I’ve always found myself in the minority when it comes to adoring them.

    Reply

  4. John
    May 04, 2008 @ 14:12:40

    I’m always glad to see other people leaving their lawns to grow naturally with a diverse set of plants, instead of forcing it all to be bluegrass, fed by lots of pesticides and fertilizers. It’s better for the environment and better for the lawn.

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    May 04, 2008 @ 23:54:50

    Henbit? So THAT’S what it’s called! We have more henbit than we do grass.
    And screw the “lawn-lovers”. A perfectly manicured, weed-free lawn is boring.
    And it’s also fascist and unnatural.
    : )

    Reply

  6. jayne
    May 05, 2008 @ 06:50:42

    Love your “weeds” Pam! Weed on!

    Reply

  7. Mary
    May 05, 2008 @ 21:39:08

    Pam, the 6th photo of the dandelion is FANTASTIC! Worth publishing, if you as me. I have a mental image of you lying flat in the grass getting that shot. Bravo!

    Hey, it’s your grass. Do what you want with it. Michael cuts ours a little shorter in the spring but very high in the summer. If it’s green and alive, that’s all that matters.

    Reply

  8. mon@rch
    May 05, 2008 @ 21:52:25

    Stunning photos and it is amazing how spring turned into summer almost overnight! Do with your grass however you want!

    Reply

  9. Rick
    May 07, 2008 @ 21:59:56

    Speaking as an agromomist with 40 plus years working with turf you will have better root systems than you neighbors but, unless you water you lawn it will be just as brown as your neighbors unless they water too in which case you’ll both have green lawns. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Rondi
    May 09, 2008 @ 19:47:37

    That’s an amazing lawn! My fantasy is to have a “lawn” that is entirely wild flowers =)

    Reply

  11. Mimi
    May 17, 2008 @ 20:36:10

    Lordy, that is some camera you’ve got there. I hear the Native Americans didn’t have a word for weeds. I couldn’t bear to use pesticides so it all grows in my yard too but doesn’t look nearly as pretty as all your lovely stuff.

    Mimi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

