Maidenhair Spleenwort

One of my most favorite ferns, okay, well, I love all ferns, so I don’t really have a favorite, but this one is really cool, Maidenhair Spleenwort (Asplenium trichomanes)

DSC04214_fc

which is exploitably vulnerable in New York State. Many fine examples were seen in rock crevices in one of my favorite NY state parks this past weekend.

DSC04205_fc

Do you find Maidenhair Spleenwort around your area, too?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    May 13, 2008 @ 19:41:34

    I’ve looked for it at Hasty Brook but haven’t found it.

    Reply

  2. Liza Lee Miller
    May 13, 2008 @ 19:43:37

    Haven’t seen it here but you gotta love it. Just saying the name is too much fun! Spleenwort! Spleenwort! Spleenwort!

    Reply

  3. Linda Martin
    May 13, 2008 @ 21:53:39

    I didn’t pay attention to what kind of ferns I saw on today’s hike but will in the future. That is an odd name for a fern!

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    May 13, 2008 @ 22:43:09

    Aw, Hell. I don’t know. I can’t tell one wort from another.

    We do have money wort in the back yard.

    Reply

  5. jayne
    May 14, 2008 @ 06:37:54

    Not sure I’ve ever looked, but it’s very pretty indeed Pam. :c)

    Reply

  6. Mary
    May 15, 2008 @ 11:38:04

    I don’t know if I’ve seen it, Pam. But I’ll look for it in my travels. I enjoy the ferns, too.

    Reply

  7. Sandy
    May 16, 2008 @ 17:24:14

    My field guide (New England) says we have maidenhair fern. It looks like it, but I am not as up on my ferns as I should be, since we have a ton of them around here.

    Reply

  8. Mimi
    May 17, 2008 @ 20:34:22

    I hate to admit that I have no idea if I’ve ever seen it before. Now I will look for it though.

    Mimi

    Reply

  9. mon@rch
    May 19, 2008 @ 21:38:11

    Cool stuff and never seen this species of spleenwort before!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

