Memorial Day, 2008

Year the second, without my Dad. Word has it they finally have his military plaque installed on his monument. SALUTE! I’ll see it in a couple of weeks when we go back to visit. And hopefully they’ll have an American flag for him, too.

scan0017
My Dad in the Navy during The Korean Conflict.

In April I found war monuments within the cemetery where my Dad is. Here’s the one for The Korean Conflict.
DSC03832_sl
At LaFayette Rural Cemetery

DSC04303_fc
I really wanted to see & photograph my Dad’s flag, but I don’t know where my Mom has it, so instead I took a photo of the flag he used to hang outside every day.

I leave you with some words from Taps, as we celebrate this Memorial Day, remembering all of those who served to make this country free.

“Day is done, gone the sun,
From the hills, from the lake,
From the sky.
All is well, safely rest,
God is nigh. . .”

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    May 25, 2008 @ 22:08:53

    He’s loving this right now…

    Reply

  2. Pam
    May 25, 2008 @ 22:14:27

    Thanks Mary. . .

    Reply

  3. jayne
    May 26, 2008 @ 07:13:13

    I can’t believe you are going into the second year Pam. What a lovely tribute. Can’t wait to see his plaque. Hugs to you. :c)

    Reply

  4. Liza Lee Miller
    May 26, 2008 @ 09:22:10

    I have thought a lot about my father too. He died while in the Air Force. Talking about him on Memorial Day helps bring him to life for my children. An aspect to his life that I don’t focus on when I talk about him usually. Thanks for sharing your memories.

    Reply

  5. Reciprocation
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 23:04:38

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Reciprocation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

