Mildred Faust Woodland Trail at Clark Reservation State Park

DSC04171_qeb
One of the many beautiful views from the trail. I use this as my desktop on my work computer.

DSC04177_fc
Yellow Violet (Viola pubescans)

DSC04175_fc
Dry Lake

28May2005 075
You can see the dry lake to the left of the plunge pool on this model of the park. I talk about the plunge pool here.

DSC04189_fc
Juvenal’s Duskywing (Erynnis juvenalis) – not a very good photo because it wasn’t hanging around for very long!

DSC04185_fc
Creeping Buttercup (Ranunculus repens)

DSC04167_fc
About Mildred Faust

This park is teeming with such a wide variety of plant life. I have old books listing the plants located within this park and Onondaga County. I have to go back and follow another trail because I am still looking for an specific fern, one that is exploitably vulnerable in this state, and once I find it, you’ll be the first to know about it!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jayne
    May 25, 2008 @ 08:09:48

    Beautiful place Pam!

    Reply

  2. Mary
    May 25, 2008 @ 08:12:31

    Looks like a place where I’d enjoy for a few days :o)

    Reply

  3. mon@rch
    May 25, 2008 @ 20:29:58

    Pam, Such stunning photos and looks like a great place to visit!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    May 25, 2008 @ 22:16:15

    Jayne – I love this place!

    Mary – you would!

    Mon@rch – thanks, and it is! The intense glacial activity here and the wide variety of plants and birds is totally amazing here. As they are at ASP, too!

    Reply

  5. rvewong
    May 27, 2008 @ 23:42:29

    Great work. I like photo essays like yours, gives me a sense of having been there.

    Reply

  6. angelartiste
    Jun 23, 2008 @ 15:44:23

    Your Nature pictures, especially the Flowers, are a total delight.

    Reply

  7. Linda Nix
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 12:16:11

    I am one of Dr. Mildred Faust’s botany students, from what seems like centuries ago. I was thrilled to see your photo essay, particularly to be able to see the dedication to Dr. Faust. She was indefatigable, a force of nature herself, thrilled every time she saw a plant even though she’d seen it thousands of times before. She marched us to see the hart’s tongue fern growing in “secret” places, led us onto quaking bogs, and taught us to drill into the bogs to sample pollen and unravel a bit of the region’s ancient flora. I wanted to grow up to be just like her. I still do, although come to think of it I believe I’m already at a stage of life that’s considered grown up…. Dr. Faust, tam on her head, roll of Baggies in her pocket in case she found something to sample, and a wide grin on her face as she led us into the “Zone C Deciduous Forest.” Thank you for this memory jolt.

    Reply

  8. Paul Faust
    Aug 10, 2011 @ 04:36:28

    Although Dr. Faust was my great aunt, I had no idea there was a trail named for her. It is such a fitting memorial; she was exactly as described above. I remember many a hike with her in the woods, us kids trying to keep up with this little old lady. Driving with her in the country was always an event, since she would periodically spot some plant out of the window and make us stop and get out to inspect her discovery. She went with us to Mexico once and was absolutely astounded to see all the plant life there. Aunt Mildred traveled all around the world, and sent us postcards from every continent.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

