Pigeons

I can see what kind of a summer we’re going to have. Everything so far is getting rained out. Today we had plans to hike at Watkins Glen State Park, and it was raining when we woke up, so we changed our plans to the afternoon at Letchworth State Park. And it was raining at noon, so we changed our plans to going to the big Barnes & Noble (two-story, tons of books) and Aladdin’s for dinner. Wouldn’t you know, while we were in Barnes & Noble the sun came out and it got really humid. So after we got done in Barnes & Noble (we came out with a long list of books on our wish list), we went to the Erie Canal Park near Aladdin’s and watched the birds and people.

DSC04633

We saw tons of ducks, some preening:

DSC04627

DSC04628

And we saw pigeons walking back and forth. Female pigeons looking for food, male pigeons displaying. And then we saw this poor white pigeon, displaying his arse off, and the female appearing to ignore him:

DSC04635

Gotta get me that girl:

DSC04636

Hey, come on, LOOK AT ME, I’m beautiful! We’ll make beautiful babies!

DSC04637

Poor male bird. He didn’t get what he was after, at least while we were sitting there.

The boat Mary Jemison was directly in my line of sight from where I sat at dinner.

DSC04639

Cruising on the Erie Canal really doesn’t do much for me. I’d much rather cruise on one of the Finger Lakes. I’ve done both, and believe me, lake cruising is much more interesting! Anyway, I sure hope all of my hiking plans don’t get rained out this summer!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jayne
    Jun 29, 2008 @ 16:27:27

    How funny! Poor pigeon… and he’s so handsome too! Hope the rain hold off for your next hiking attempt Pam. :c)

    Reply

  2. mon@rch
    Jun 29, 2008 @ 21:49:49

    how funny watching those pigeons! Cooo Cooo Cooo

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 20:31:59

    Jayne – LOL! He was really handsome! I sure hope I can get out and hike soon!

    Mon@rch – it was! Why do their heads move so much?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

