One *Sweet* Machine

Yesterday my Mom’s friend John lent us his *new* John Deere riding lawn mower Series 100 (I didn’t catch the model but I think it’s the one pictured here). Let me tell you, this is one very *sweet* machine. I’ve been using my Dad’s older Sears Craftsman riding lawn mower, and by the time I was done with my Mom’s lawn (which is huge) my whole body ached such that I couldn’t even go to the gym the next day. Using the John Deere mower yesterday was like riding on a cloud and I could turn it with one finger if I wanted to. It’s much more powerful, uses less gas (important nowadays, huh!), has a wider mowing bed and turns better (not on a dime, but not wide either). We also used the mulch feature, so there weren’t piles of mown grass all over.

JohnDeereSeries100

How about you, what is your preferred mower? I’m totally sold on John Deere now. Thanks to my Mom’s friend, who was very generous in lending me his new machine – how many people would do that nowadays?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jayne
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 07:45:18

    My hubby has one and is so enamored with it, that for Father’s Day, he wanted an impact drill in order to get the blades off for sharpening! Yep, nothing rides like a Deere!

    Reply

  2. Liza Lee Miller
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 10:25:28

    Very cool ride! We don’t have any lawn so we have no mower at all. I’ve promised my husband that as soon as *I* get 5 acres of land, he can have a riding mower! šŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 16:35:34

    My Dad was a Cub Cadet man, and I take after him. But reality says we have to own a Toro. Dad retro-tweaked all of his Cub Cadets to be able to cut while in reverse, which cut down (no pun intended) on mowing time.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 20:30:15

    Jayne – LOL!! That will be next!

    Liza – It is! I’m sure your hubby can’t wait to have a riding mower!

    Susan – Sweet! I saw one just yesterday – it looked just like the John Deere except different colors, of course. Hmmm, the two mowers I’ve used cut in reverse, what am I missing?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

