Grrrrrr

I took the day off for several reasons but the main one was so I could have the hygiene changed in my water system and the potassium tank cleaned out. So, since today is garbage day, I put my garbage to the curb early this morning after carefully separating recyclables and breaking down boxes. I had two additional boxes of recyclables along with the normal recycle box. And you know what the garbage boobs did? They dumped my carefully separated recyclable garbage I had in the two additional boxes and threw it in the regular garbage truck. I didn’t see them doing it else I would have been out there telling them to save it for the recycle garbage truck.  Major grrrrrrrrr to them for putting that stuff in the landfills.

I also read in the latest Country Living magazine that “it is estimated that approximately seven million wild birds are killed each year due to pesticide use by homeowners for aesthetic reasons. Visit audubon.org to learn how you can create a welcoming habitat for birds and other wildlife.” No, I didn’t type that wrong, that was 7,000,000 wild birds. 7,000,000 birds too many just because of stupid humans and their stupid need to have the “perfect” looking yard. Another major grrrrrrrr.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eileen
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 19:22:03

    We are so Grrrr on the perfect looking yard. Our back yard is left wild for God to garden and the front vegetable garden and what lawn we have is not pesticided in anyway. The neighbour across the street however …. grrrrrr. Also, a huge waste of water these manicured lawns are and don’t get me on golf courses (hopefully you are not a golfer).

    Reply

  2. mon@rch
    Jul 03, 2008 @ 21:37:57

    Wild cats kill a billion something number of birds!

    Reply

  3. Liza Lee Miller
    Jul 04, 2008 @ 00:07:48

    No pesticides here. Organic only, thank you. No cats either — and with Ruby in the yard, my birds are safe from our neighbor’s roaming cat, too. I just have to deal with the occasional dead squirrel. Sigh.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Jul 04, 2008 @ 08:02:59

    Eileen – I can’t stand golf courses! Especially the ones in the middle of the desert!

    Mon@rch – Feral cats? Poor birdies – wah!

    Liza – I love Ruby – she’s so cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

