Happy 4th of July!

This week at work we’ve been collecting boxes and boxes full of goodies to send to a few of the American troops in Iraq. We do this through the National Guard so we don’t have to actually send the stuff ourselves. They come to the center and send it for us. It’s been tough getting ahold of the National Guard this week, because, well, they’ve been too busy dealing with too many people being killed this week in Iraq. Lovely. I can’t even imagine. It made me go out and buy more stuff for those guys and gals. And look through some of the magazines my Mom gives me that she still gets under my Dad’s name, and some of the DVDs that my Dad gave to me when he was still alive. And I brought it all in for them.

And they respond back with some wonderful photos and letters.  This is what they sent from last year.

DSC04643

DSC04642

If you don’t already know, you can find a soldier or two or more to send goodies to at anysoldier.

Even though I’m going to celebrate this 4th, I’m still thinking of all of the US soldiers in Iraq, and our USA history. Happy 4th everyone!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jayne
    Jul 04, 2008 @ 10:30:42

    What a wonderful idea Pam! Thanks for the link. I’m going to visit right now. Have a great and happy 4th! Love and hugs to you.

    Reply

  2. Lynne
    Jul 04, 2008 @ 16:16:43

    What a thoughtful group you are.

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Jul 05, 2008 @ 06:16:09

    Jayne – You’re welcome!

    Lynne – Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

