Care For Some Water?

Okay, while my friends down south are wishing for some rain, here in my part of the country we are getting so much rain I’m beginning to feel like I’m living in the rain forest. So yesterday it rained 3.2″ in an hour right before rush hour, and this is one of the three lakes I encountered on the way home.

DSC04720

Okay, this is where it gets really scary. I mean I was *scared*
DSC04721

While the guy ahead of me went through it like no tomorrow, I crawled through it, and I have an Explorer. But I didn’t want it to die on me.  I mean, it was deep.

DSC04722

It took me an hour to get home. It usually takes a half hour. And I won’t discuss what I encountered when I got to my street. Okay, I will, but I didn’t take any photos. 75mph winds had come through my area, knocking down trees and knocking out power, until 1:17am this morning. I had to listen to chain saws cutting up the trees up to that time so the local power company could do its work.  So I am running on very little sleep.

Anyway, I wish I could ship our excess rain to my southern friends!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liza Lee Miller
    Jul 24, 2008 @ 19:56:54

    And western . . . we could use some rain here! Going through deep water is really scary — too fast, too slow . . . neither one is right. In fact, never ever be the FIRST one through deep water, you know. You don’t know what’s under there! Yikes! Glad you got home safely.

    Reply

  2. Ruth
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 06:50:52

    We have had enough rain too. Tuesday evening’s storm flooded the streets badly with a record rainfall in 15 minutes. Our hospital’s 1st floor emergency department had several inches of rain on the floor and a young boy almost drowned trying to ride his bike through a flooded area of his residential street. That has never happened before. We have had several years of drought and now the snowiest winter on record and a very, very wet summer.

    Reply

  3. jayne
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 06:58:25

    How scary Pam. Geez. I’d have been petrified too. Deep water on the road is nothing to play around in for sure. Glad you got home safe and sound.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

