Sleeping Outside

My Mom picked up the May-June-July issue of Mary Jane’s Farm a few weeks ago and I devoured it in one night (after she was finished with it, that is). I discovered her latest book Mary Jane’s Outpost – Unleashing Your Inner Wild and was reading through a bit of it tonight. It brought back quite a few memories. Living out in the country when I was young I spent a lot of time outside. One of my many favorite memories is of my older brother and me setting up the telescope to check out the moon and the various constellations. And then setting up the pup tent (or not) to sleep under the stars.

1969-06-010

I’m on the right, my older brother on the left. My grandmother took this slide of us on a morning after we had slept outside in the pup tent.

While I really wouldn’t feel comfortable sleeping outside these days either in a tent or not, I still love my fresh air year round and I have to sleep beside open windows.

And you’ll hear more memories that reading Mary Jane’s Farm is bringing to the forefront, because I love to do many of the things she writes about in her magazines and books.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liza Lee Miller
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 01:26:49

    Sounds fascinating. I think it’s why my family and I love going camping so much — even that little bit of a taste of living unfettered is good stuff.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 07:08:50

    Liza – oh yeah, I used to love sleeping out in the fresh air. I wouldn’t mind sleeping in a motor home like yours!

    Reply

  3. jayne
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 08:22:10

    I’ve slept outside in a tent exactly ONCE. Not a huge fan as I can’t stand the thought of what is creeping around me as I sleep. Not a camper girl here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

