I Have A Serious Question

How am I going to know when my mail gets delivered, both at work and at home, when the USPS switches from the Grumman Long Life Vehicles they use now to whatever non-gas vehicle they’re going to use? I mean everyone that I know knows when their US mail has arrived because all US mail trucks have that distinctive throaty noise to them.  You don’t need to look out any window.  You *know* your mail has arrived.

Small_USPS_Truck

I asked this question to a couple co-workers today and they laughed their butts off. I didn’t know what was so funny. I’m being serious.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 20:45:09

    I haven’t heard about the USPS changing vehicles. I guess I need to lidten to the news more! I’ll be trouble too because like you I can hear their truck coming long before I see it.

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 21:26:13

    Pam, I have not heard about USPS changing vehicles, either. But, guess what? I never know when my mail comes unless I hear the snap of the mailbox closing. Our USPS drivers use their own vehicles – Chevy Blazers, little station wagons, whatever…

    So I laughed at you, too. LOL!

    Reply

  3. John
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 22:58:50

    The USPS in my area uses minivans to deliver mail, so there is no Grumman noise. I still know the mail has come if I hear the carrier walk up on our porch. UPS trucks are still the same behemoths, though.

    Reply

  4. moodr
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 23:42:43

    I have a serious solution. I think you can invent the gadget that makes that noise and of course, immediately patent it. Then sell it to USPS. You’ll be richer and happier 🙂

    p.s.: Don’t forget me after you got rich.

    Reply

  5. Liza Lee Miller
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 01:28:54

    I think you can buy a device that rings a bell in your house when the mail comes — people with rural boxes use them so they know when the mail arrives down their long driveways.

    Just a thought! 🙂

    But, I hear you . . . we always know when the mail has arrived too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

