It’s a Tough Job, But Somebody Has To Do It

Last Thursday for work I had to fill in as the administration person on a field trip to Kershaw Park on Canandaigua Lake. I had the responsibility of watching 46 children and x number of teachers. And carting around my own backpack and the general first aid backpack (each room has their own first aid kit, mine also contains all of the personal information about each child in case of emergency).

DSC05011

Have you ever watched 46 children and x number of teachers all at once, to make sure everything is okay?

DSC05013

It’s not easy. I would have rather have been hiking in the Bristol Hills, down there at the end of the lake. I need to hike those hills again. Those are some intense uphill hikes.

DSC05015

But I really didn’t have time to think about hiking that much, counting and recounting and checking and rechecking children and teachers. And getting no lunch break. And making sure all of their little needs were taken care of.

DSC05014

Still I felt like I was on vacation because I allowed myself to soak in sunshine ALL DAY LONG and IT FELT GOOD because, just because, it did. Even though it was hot. It felt really good.

And then we bought them ice cream at Scoops in Canandaigua, and I’m here to tell you, a small there is huge, as you can see by the cone this boy has!
100_0082
This is from a previous visit by them and this photo is not taken by me.

And for the most part these children are some of the best behaved children I’ve ever had the pleasure to watch and interact with. Because the teachers train them all of the time. The only people I had to reprimand at all were the camp counselors (young volunteers who don’t always listen when they should). Pretty cool, huh?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 12:47:31

    I’m sure the responsibility was huge and felt intense but still, like you said, sunshine, sunshine, sunshine!
    Even though you didn’t get lunch did you at least get an ice cream cone?

    Are you happy with your new career path?
    It seems like you are.

    Reply

  2. jayne
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 13:56:35

    Glad the potentially tough job was enjoyable and sun-filled day Pam. :c)

    Reply

  3. jim
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 07:27:35

    Im glade you had a nice day on the beach, It looks like one of those days you just dont want to leave. I hope all your trips are just as fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

