Gosnell Big Woods Preserve

A few years ago I had a professor who told me that there was an old growth forest nearby, but he wouldn’t spill the details on how to get there. Well, this summer as I was looking through a newspaper, I found a tour through an old growth forest nearby, so I am assuming this is the one he was talking about. As it turns out, the Gosnell family donated and sold property to create the Gosnell Big Woods Preserve.

On Saturday I visited the preserve’s Big Field and Overlook. I didn’t make it into the heart of the Big Woods yet. There was some weird guy who was running around the field trail and as he came towards me he muttered something and all I could understand was blah blah blah U.S. I don’t know whether he was being nice or not, so this creeped me out too much to enjoy myself. I will go back when Mr. Weirdo isn’t there.

This is the view of Big Field from the parking lot:

DSC05054

A short distance in I saw Butterfly-weed (Asclepias tuberosa). With orange being my favorite color, I was in heaven, except I was nervous with Mr. Weirdo, so when I go back I’ll take better macros:

DSC05049

DSC05048

DSC05047

There was a deer in the clump of trees on the left and I was really close to it when I accidentally spooked it (I didn’t see it until it got spooked).

DSC05042

I don’t know what this is yet, if you do, please let me know!
DSC05041

Same with this one:
DSC05037

Ahhh, this is the entrance into Big Woods. Woods. There’s nothing like them, woods, that is.
DSC05018

I headed towards the Overlook to see what the big deal was.
DSC05022

There were beech trees. I *love* beech trees, and it was refreshing to see beech trees without the markings from humans on its bark:
DSC05024

This was the overlook. Okay, this is next to Lake Ontario, which means the land here is not deeply hilly like I like, but still, I enjoy this:
DSC05023
Down at the bottom right is a field of ferns I need to check out.

And as to be expected in any woods, especially this summer, there is quite a few fungi in a small area:
DSC05027

DSC05028

DSC05029
I just noticed a slug at the top of this photo!

DSC05032

DSC05033

And the view from Big Woods back into the Big Field.
DSC05040

Hopefully I won’t be creeped out when I go back to visit so I can see the Big Woods.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liza Lee Miller
    Aug 28, 2008 @ 09:45:23

    What a beautiful wood. Sorry about Mr Creepy Guy. Bummer. Hope you have another wonderful visits.

    Reply

  2. jayne
    Aug 28, 2008 @ 16:11:52

    A neat place to explore for sure. Hope it’s a bit less creepy next time. :c)

    Reply

  3. rvewong
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 00:40:57

    Nice walk, and I like the way it comes through in your photos.

    Reply

  4. gottabcreative
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 17:25:31

    Your Gosnell Preserve photos from August 2008 are great. The Genessee Land Trust is creating new educational signs at the entrance of the Preserve. Would it be possible to use a few of the photos in the signs?
    Thanks.
    Peggy

    Reply

  5. sandy
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 18:35:23

    That looks like a great place for photos.
    Not 100% sure, but the yellow plant looks like St Johnswort,
    and the whitish pink one looks like Bladder Campion.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

