A Walk in the Big Woods

So I went back to walk in the Big Woods and no cars were in the parking lot, but I still was on the lookout for Mr. Weirdo.  I hate not being able to go into nature and enjoy myself without watching for weirdos.  Okay, that said, I had a great time checking out half of the Big Woods.

A short way in I spied my first old growth tree. I need to bring a dbh tape, this guy is huge, and I have nothing to show you in the way of hugeness, but trust me, it is huge:

DSC05095

And here’s the other side:

DSC05097

Isn’t it gorgeous?  And huge!

Here’s some more cool fungi:
DSC05109

DSC05112

And looking up one of the big trees:
DSC05132

This has a cool root:
DSC05161

Close-up of the root:
DSC05162

I wonder what was under that root at one time to make it grow up and over and down like that.

Cute little orange fungi:
DSC05165

And a beautiful trail:
DSC05166

All of a sudden the trail moved and it made me go “oh” and it scared this guy off the trail, but he stayed to pose for my photos:
DSC05177

The ground jumped this time, and I saw this dark little guy, all of an 1″ long:
DSC05192

Some more cool fungi:
DSC05193

I have tons of photos from my walk in the Big Woods, but these are the highlights. I then walked back on the Field Trail, and saw more of these unknown to me interesting urn shaped flowers:
DSC05205

When I got into my truck, I noticed this little guy on my pants:
DSC05222

DSC05223

I have come a long way baby, because I don’t do worms of any sort, well, except earthworms. So after his photo shoot, he ended up out the door to stay at the preserve.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Sep 01, 2008 @ 00:04:00

    I’m proud of you, that you didn’t smack that sweet little inchworm off your pants!

    Big old woods are my faves. Thanks for taking us along.

    Reply

  2. jayne
    Sep 01, 2008 @ 08:10:58

    I like inchworms like I like ladybugs for some reason. :c) Cool huge trees!

    Reply

  3. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Sep 01, 2008 @ 09:47:22

    I’ve been missing your posts about your beloved trees and ferns and fungi. I think of you when I see a particularly interesting tree!

    Gorgeous photos Pam.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Sep 01, 2008 @ 20:50:24

    Susan – Thanks! It was tough! I wanted to squish it in a kleenex. I’m loving the Big ole woods, too. Can’t wait to go back!

    Jayne – Inchworms are so cool – they have to work so hard to get such a short distance.

    Lynne – Aww, thanks Lynne, I think about my blogging friends when I’m out in the woods, too! It’s like you’re all out there with me!

    Reply

  5. rvewong
    Sep 16, 2008 @ 00:40:55

    Weirdos or bears which would you rather deal with? I think I’d take the bears.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

